Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was moist and chocolately and used up lots of my extra apples from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent! Even after I made it more "healthy" it was still decadent. I double the apples (I used 4 apples, finely dicing 2 and pureeing the other 2 in a food processor) and cut the butter in half. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (the apples are very sweet) and use whole wheat flour. I also reduced cooking time to 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this just for fun and it came out EXCELLENT! Completely random combination, but it tastes amazing! I used 1 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips rather than the regular - which spreads the chocolate more throughout the cake. I also dusted with a light layer of powdered sugar. I finally had a recipe to share with my grandmother rather than begging her for something new to try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Calabash, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Loved this!!! Just a little too much nutmeg for me, but very flavorful, dense and robust. The taste just tickles your tastebuds, spicy, fruity, melty, yummy. Can you tell I liked this? Really good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved this. The flavors work very well together and the cake is rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good the first day. It got slightly mushy from the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very moist cake, next time I would chop the apple finer. Very good, did not use chocolaate chips, it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this for the first time and took it to a meeting, where it received many compliments. So it is good! For me personally, I prefer a denser cake. One reviewer here said that theirs came out dense, but mine was quite light and airy. Just a matter of preference. I would also add more chips than the recipe calls for, as well as perhaps double the apples, as a number of reviewers here suggested. It needs more apples to up the apple flavor. Was happy with the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeychildnh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very good! I did add a pinch of salt. Very good cake for the fall season. Makes the house smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States