Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
very moist and chocolate chips make it really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very moist. You don't have to chop apples very finely, and it's OK to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This recipe is one my family has used for over 30 years. My little sister won a blue ribbon at our county fair with it. I'll will note here that the nutmeg may be replaced with ground allspice for a nuance of flavor I prefer. As much as 1 cup of chopped nuts may be added if desired. A bundt pan may be used instead of the tube pan without making any change in time or temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
An interesting, unusual, and delicious cake that's not too difficult to make. Good for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My family REALLY liked this recipe! We have made it several times but usually add a frosting. Our favorite frosting is to take another cup or so of the choclate chips, add about a tablespoon of crisco, heat to melting point in microwave, stir well .... then drizzle over the top and sides of the cake. PS: when adding the chips to the cake (not the frosting) you MAY want to add them AFTER you have poured the batter into the pan. Basically just sprinkle them on top and stir them only slightly into the batter. This way they may not settle as much toward the bottom. To me this cake tastes even better after it has been around for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Everyone loved this! My husband did suggest adding more apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Fantastic cake. This was so very simple to make. I made it in a bunt pan. The kids helped, apples were larger than i would have chopped but they loved it. I added walnuts to mine. The kids really loved it. The chocolate with the spices really creates an unusual flavor that works perfectly. I can't wait to make this again, it would be just perfect warm with cinnamon flavored whipped cream and a cup of hot cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I brought this cake in to work today, and it was gone super fast. Everyone loved it. Super moist, with a unique blend of apples & chocolate. I used the miniature chocolate chips instead of the regular ones and that seemed to fix the sinking chocolate problem. I will definately be making this cake again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
very good recipe..instead of white sugar i used brown and used 4 c grated apples instead of the 2 and i cooked it in a 13x9 inch pan for 50 minutes at 325...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is a lovely, fragrant, moist cake full of delicious flavour. I used big chunks of chocolate as opposed to chips and added an extra half apple. I also added a sprinkling of ginger which worked well. I will definitley make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Hereford, Herefordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States