Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Fantastic as written! Served warm with vanilla ice cream and fully enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaleeCharlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe is soooo good I made it for Thanksgiving and my brother said it was an exact replica of my grandmothers homemade chocolate chess pie and he wanted to know if it was her recipe I told him I will never tell but coming from him that is saying a lot. I enjoyed this so much thank you, thank you, thank you this is what I am making myself for my birthday because these are my favorite and it really is so simple. I really simplified it even more by just melting the better and adding in the cocoa and letting that mixture cool and then just putting all the rest of the stuff together and mixing it in a bowl and then pouring after it cooled a bit more into the pis shell and baking it and it turned out perfect. one the warm melted butter and the cocoa combined then it cooled down it was perfect to mix with the other ingredients and I just used a hand mixer and blended well until the sugar had dissolved good. I turned out great and I have one in the oven now baking and soon as it is done will post up a picture with another review because this is the best version I have tried to make and I have tried all but this one on this website until thanksgiving and this one is definitely a handed down grandmother recipe because my grandmother would have been proud to taste this one I made and am making again already. It is as close to hers as I have ever done and really this is pretty much full proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lynn Leach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billie_jean
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great turn out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I went dirrectly as the recipe called for and cooked it as directed. It didn't cook all the way , it cooked around the edges but the middle was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Flavor is good, but consistently is too gooey, even with 10 extra minutes in the oven. I grew up in the South, and it's not supposed to be like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Perfect, only difference was special dark cocoa used. Recieved rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi Hankins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
DEE-lish!!! I added a 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to mine - was wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Really easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
It is not the mixing. It is the baking. For those who have had trouble...bake at 350 for 40-50 min. The hot temp decreasing to a lesser temp is what is making the problems for some. I have had this same recipe for years and have never had any trouble. When I baked it according to these directions it did not turn out as moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
THIS RECIPE WAS SO EASY TO MAKE AND EVERYONE RAVED ABOUT IT. THE ONLY THING WAS, MOST CHESS PIES HAVE CORNMEAL IN THEM THAT GIVES THE GRITTY TEXTURE. THIS DID NOT CALL FOR ANY SO IT MADE UP MORE LIKE A CHOCOLATE PECAN PIE. NO WORRIES THOUGH BECAUSE IT WAS STILL DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States