Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Chocolately, gooey goodness! This is a very rich pie. I was doubling the recipe and mistakenly did not double the butter. It was fine without the extra butter. I also had to bake the pie an extra 10 minutes and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Delicious...absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is so good it deserves a homemade pie crust. I used the one submitted by Leah Lyons in her "Sweet Pie" recipe. I also recommend serving the chess pie with cream or ice cream to balance the rich, dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This turned out perfectly for me! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and the entire family loved it. All of the women asked for the recipe. I will certainly make it again, not only for special occasions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you can imagine a brownie as pie, then this is it. Tastes just like a brownie only better! Absolutely fantastic. My new favorite pie! I didn't even have evaporated milk and used the sweetened (thick) condensed milk instead, kept my fingers crossed the substitution would be okay, and this turned out the creamiest, richest chocolatiest pie ever. I didn't use an electric mixer, just a wooden spoon. I paired this with french pastry pie crust and it is fabulous. 5 plus stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was the best pie I have ever made or eaten. I have made it 3 times since I found the recipe. It is also easy to cook! I've even made it without the pecans because my daughter doesn't like them and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe, tastes just like my mom used to make. It's my fiance's favorite! For even more decadence, use sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. Sweetened condensed milk gives the pie a super rich texture and flavor, evaporated milk makes it lighter. I alternate between the two depending on how I'm feeling that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This one was perfect. I did the 10 minutes at 400 then I finished it at 350 instead of 325(by accident). I gave it 7 extra minutes and it came out good. It wasn't runny and the texture was perfect. Next time, I'll use a deep dish crust. I skipped the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodfan
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I needed to use a pie crust, and was in the mood for chocolate and this recipe really fit the bill! I carefully melted the butter--twice because it accidentally boiled in the microwave the first time and I had to start over-- (I also used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 of butter). I followed the baking directions exactly, including the cooking times and it turned out great! It tasted like a chocolate lava cake (because I couldn't wait for it to cool and cut it while it was hot). It was everything I hoped it would be. The texture of my pie looks nothing like the one shown in the picture, but I wasn't really looking too hard at it as I scarfed it down. What a really superb pie, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States