Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe without a doubt is the best chocolate pie I've ever eaten!!! Easy to make, too. I found I needed to cook it 5-8 min longer. It is best after it's completely cooled or even refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Er
Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
The texture was WAY to gelatinous for me and I couldn't get past the second bite. Don't get me wrong, the taste was there but the texture threw me off completely. Since this recipe I have made other chess pies and discovered "flour" is the key! If you want a more cake like texture, I suggest adding a few tablespoons of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Chocolately, gooey goodness! This is a very rich pie. I was doubling the recipe and mistakenly did not double the butter. It was fine without the extra butter. I also had to bake the pie an extra 10 minutes and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly. After baking the pie an extra 20 minutes beyond the original time at 325 degrees it was like soup in the center. Don't get me wrong, it had a wonderful taste, but the baking time and temp. do not work for this pie. I hope it turns out better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe, tastes just like my mom used to make. It's my fiance's favorite! For even more decadence, use sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. Sweetened condensed milk gives the pie a super rich texture and flavor, evaporated milk makes it lighter. I alternate between the two depending on how I'm feeling that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was the best pie I have ever made or eaten. I have made it 3 times since I found the recipe. It is also easy to cook! I've even made it without the pecans because my daughter doesn't like them and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I followed receipe to the letter and it turned out awful, just like another reviewer stated. It did not cook and stuck to the plate which made throwing it away difficult! Don't waste the ingredients needed to bake this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you can imagine a brownie as pie, then this is it. Tastes just like a brownie only better! Absolutely fantastic. My new favorite pie! I didn't even have evaporated milk and used the sweetened (thick) condensed milk instead, kept my fingers crossed the substitution would be okay, and this turned out the creamiest, richest chocolatiest pie ever. I didn't use an electric mixer, just a wooden spoon. I paired this with french pastry pie crust and it is fabulous. 5 plus stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Very very easy to make. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and the entire family loved it. All of the women asked for the recipe. I will certainly make it again, not only for special occasions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States