Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly. After baking the pie an extra 20 minutes beyond the original time at 325 degrees it was like soup in the center. Don't get me wrong, it had a wonderful taste, but the baking time and temp. do not work for this pie. I hope it turns out better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe, tastes just like my mom used to make. It's my fiance's favorite! For even more decadence, use sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. Sweetened condensed milk gives the pie a super rich texture and flavor, evaporated milk makes it lighter. I alternate between the two depending on how I'm feeling that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was the best pie I have ever made or eaten. I have made it 3 times since I found the recipe. It is also easy to cook! I've even made it without the pecans because my daughter doesn't like them and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I followed receipe to the letter and it turned out awful, just like another reviewer stated. It did not cook and stuck to the plate which made throwing it away difficult! Don't waste the ingredients needed to bake this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you can imagine a brownie as pie, then this is it. Tastes just like a brownie only better! Absolutely fantastic. My new favorite pie! I didn't even have evaporated milk and used the sweetened (thick) condensed milk instead, kept my fingers crossed the substitution would be okay, and this turned out the creamiest, richest chocolatiest pie ever. I didn't use an electric mixer, just a wooden spoon. I paired this with french pastry pie crust and it is fabulous. 5 plus stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Very very easy to make. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and the entire family loved it. All of the women asked for the recipe. I will certainly make it again, not only for special occasions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This turned out perfectly for me! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I chose this recpie over the other chocolate chess pies because it called for the most cocoa. The only way I deviated from the instructions was that I left out the nuts. I followed everything else to a T, and the ingredients separated--not sure if while cooking or cooling, because I didn't notice until we cut into it. The sugar and chocolate were on top, and the eggs and evaporated milk were a translucent layer at the bottom. Was looking forward to a great reminder of my southern childhood, but I did not care for this. On Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is so good it deserves a homemade pie crust. I used the one submitted by Leah Lyons in her "Sweet Pie" recipe. I also recommend serving the chess pie with cream or ice cream to balance the rich, dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States