Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The flavor is wonderful, however I think the lower reviews could be because some cooks are unaware of proper custard/homemade pudding-type pie preparation. The ingredients should include instructions for tempering the eggs. To those who had trouble with the ingredients separating: mix together all of the ingredients except for the eggs and pecans over medium heat until sugar is melted and cocoa is incorporate. Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and while STILL beating, add about 1/2 cup slowly to the eggs to gradually increase the temperature. Then add the egg mixture back to the saucepan still stirring. Your mixture will thicken almost instantly, then you can add the pecans and pour the mixture into the pie shell. It only takes an extra minute to do this, but the results are perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillithmaximus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is the second time I have attempted this recipe and it has not turned out at all! Each time I have made it it will not bake in the 30 minute time frame. I have had to leave it in the oven an additional 25 - 30 minutes and the top ends up a lot dryer than the rest of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good dessert. Going to back off the sugar to 1 cup. It is a very rich tasting pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodfan
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I needed to use a pie crust, and was in the mood for chocolate and this recipe really fit the bill! I carefully melted the butter--twice because it accidentally boiled in the microwave the first time and I had to start over-- (I also used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 of butter). I followed the baking directions exactly, including the cooking times and it turned out great! It tasted like a chocolate lava cake (because I couldn't wait for it to cool and cut it while it was hot). It was everything I hoped it would be. The texture of my pie looks nothing like the one shown in the picture, but I wasn't really looking too hard at it as I scarfed it down. What a really superb pie, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This one was perfect. I did the 10 minutes at 400 then I finished it at 350 instead of 325(by accident). I gave it 7 extra minutes and it came out good. It wasn't runny and the texture was perfect. Next time, I'll use a deep dish crust. I skipped the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I wish I'd read all the reviews and not depended on the firsts three, which rated this recipe very highly. This turned out terrible. I had the same problem another reviewer had where the egg/milk mixture seperated from the chocolate. The consistency was like soup, even after baking for 20 extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this pie for Christmas and everyone said this was what I was bringing next year as well! So easy but I did make a few changes...I made two 9" deep dish pies by multiplying the recipe by 1.5; the computer will do this for you by changing the number of servings. Not everyone in my family likes pecans so I dumped about 3/4 of a cup of pecans in the bottom of one of the pie shells before dumping the filling in. I also dumped 1/3 cup of semisweet and 1/3 cup of milk chocolate morsels in each of the pie shells before I added the filling. This pie is smooth and creamy and extremely rich. Perfect for the chocolate lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe without a doubt is the best chocolate pie I've ever eaten!!! Easy to make, too. I found I needed to cook it 5-8 min longer. It is best after it's completely cooled or even refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Er
Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
The texture was WAY to gelatinous for me and I couldn't get past the second bite. Don't get me wrong, the taste was there but the texture threw me off completely. Since this recipe I have made other chess pies and discovered "flour" is the key! If you want a more cake like texture, I suggest adding a few tablespoons of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Chocolately, gooey goodness! This is a very rich pie. I was doubling the recipe and mistakenly did not double the butter. It was fine without the extra butter. I also had to bake the pie an extra 10 minutes and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States