Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was delicious! I waffled back and forth whether I was going to follow the recipe or the reviews as far as the amount of sugar, but then it turned out I was low on sugar and could barely scrape together a cup, so I just went with that, as well as using the heaping tablespoons of cocoa. I also followed the advice to use softened, not melted, butter, and to mix it very thoroughly. It turned out great! One of the best chocolate pies I've ever made! I topped it with whipped cream and chocolate curls. I was a little slow in getting it started, so I didn't have time to let it cool as much as I wanted, but it set up just fine, even though it was still warm when we ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This has become a favorite in my house! I have combined all of the suggestions from other reviews and come up with the following "tweaks" to complete perfection for our tastes. A couple of noteworthy thoughts before proceeding: *Do NOT double this recipe to try to make a deep-dish pie. I did this and the pie simply will not set unless it bakes for hours! Then the texture is just not good and the crust will be ruined. The recipe is perfect for a regular 9 inch dish. If you need more servings, make more pies, not a deep-dish! *Be certain not to melt butter completely. It needs to be "chunky" when mixing into the sugars. *Slightly beat the eggs and add to the mixture LAST. I always use extra large or jumbo sized eggs. The size of the eggs, especially when baking, will often make all the difference in consistency and moistness. *Mix at LEAST 5 minutes. You cannot over-mix this recipe, so turn on your Kitchenaid with paddle attachment and blend away while you prepare the crusts! It is crucial to mix long enough! *To make a chocolate pecan pie, which is amazing, add 1/2-3/4 cup coarsely chopped pecans to mixture, then cover the top with whole pecans (to your preference as to "nuttiness" and presentation). This variation is to die for! *I use the "No Fail Pie Crust" from this site, if making everything from scratch. It is fantastic and compliments any pie! *Be sure to cover the edges of your crust during the final phase of baking (the last 15-30 mins) to prevent over bak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was the first time I have ever made a pie so I was really hesitant. And A lot of the reviews made it hard to know what to do or expect. So I followed the instructions written and the pie came out perfect! The only things i would say are: 1. Beat the pie filling for about 5 minutes before pouring into pie crust...this will help the sugar blend. 2. I used a deep dish pie crust 3. I cooked it for 45 mins then wrapped the edges with foil and baked another 30 minutes. Cool completely and the filling will set perfectly. I served with the recipe for homemade whipped cream from this website and it was a huge hit. We have a bakery here that makes these and charges $30.00 for each pie! Highway robbery right??! I had most ingredients on hand except for the evaporated milk and pie crust so i paid about $5 total. Everybody couldn't believe I had made this myself. All of my girlfriends kept raving and saying that this pie was way better than the ones they were buying from the bakery ??. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this recipe and it is way off. Check with what other folks have made and follow their suggestions. I would bake it at 375 and use less butter. Also it needs way more chocolate and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe and loved it... Added my own twist with a half cup of milk chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Followed another reviewers instructions and it set perfectly. Reduce sugar to 1 cup; increase choc to 5 tablespoons. Mix all ingredients except eggs, cook over medium heat, stirring constantly. Beat eggs in separate bowl. Add heated mixture to eggs 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly. Should start to thicken immediately. Pour into pie crust. Bake 325 for 1 hr. Cool on wire rack. Store in refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family devours this pie in less than a day! So easy to make too. I cook a few minutes longer and let it sit for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Lizana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I followed panamabev's directions, which included tempering the eggs, and the finished pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Liz Flecha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I was skeptical about making this after reading some of the reviews saying that it did not set up right. I did not have a problem with that. I followed the recipe exactly and mine set just fine. Delicious! Perhaps it depends on the elevation where you are. I know that certain things need more time to bake/ cook at higher elevations. I served mine with vanilla ice cream and a little chocolate syrup and toasted pecans on top. Cinnamon is good sprinkled on top also. Reminds me of one my mom used to make and we called it Hot Fudge Pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
11/17/14. This quick, rich and easy pie got rave reviews from hubby and some church friends. Although I've made many chess pies over the years, this is the first chocolate one, but it won't be the last. Extremely rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States