Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this recipe and it is way off. Check with what other folks have made and follow their suggestions. I would bake it at 375 and use less butter. Also it needs way more chocolate and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe and loved it... Added my own twist with a half cup of milk chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Followed another reviewers instructions and it set perfectly. Reduce sugar to 1 cup; increase choc to 5 tablespoons. Mix all ingredients except eggs, cook over medium heat, stirring constantly. Beat eggs in separate bowl. Add heated mixture to eggs 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly. Should start to thicken immediately. Pour into pie crust. Bake 325 for 1 hr. Cool on wire rack. Store in refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family devours this pie in less than a day! So easy to make too. I cook a few minutes longer and let it sit for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Lizana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I followed panamabev's directions, which included tempering the eggs, and the finished pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Liz Flecha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I was skeptical about making this after reading some of the reviews saying that it did not set up right. I did not have a problem with that. I followed the recipe exactly and mine set just fine. Delicious! Perhaps it depends on the elevation where you are. I know that certain things need more time to bake/ cook at higher elevations. I served mine with vanilla ice cream and a little chocolate syrup and toasted pecans on top. Cinnamon is good sprinkled on top also. Reminds me of one my mom used to make and we called it Hot Fudge Pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
11/17/14. This quick, rich and easy pie got rave reviews from hubby and some church friends. Although I've made many chess pies over the years, this is the first chocolate one, but it won't be the last. Extremely rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was easy to make and very good. I will make another tomorrow to give away--so I won't eat it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I took the advice of most reviewers and added extra cocoa, but followed everything else. It was a *huge* hit with the family. I was informed that this was going to replace birthday cake at future parties. Simple vintage recipes are often the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Turned out with a terrible consistency and butter grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States