Chocolate Chess Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CaptainDavey
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used a chocolate graham cracker crust which made it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainDavey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made this at Christmas and only made 1 substitution, using 1 tsp. cream sherry in place of the vanilla. It was WONDERFUL. This is super easy and had a very smooth texture. One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good but a little gritty and the appearance was unappealing. Not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It was ok. Def cover the edges of your pie crust as they will burn. I tasted little to no chocolate and had even put more cocoa than the recipe called for. It tastes like pecan pie without the pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Super recipe. The only change was making the tablespoons of cocoa a little more than level. Covered the edge of crust with pie shield during the entire baking time. DELICIOUS! And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romney, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great tasting pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good, but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Well, I made this for my sweetie for Valentine's Day. Not a winner. Sorry, but this was too sweet and not very chocolaty, even though I used the special dark cocoa. DH said it tasted too eggy as well. On another note, in trying to decide which recipe to make, chocolate chess pie I or chocolate chess pie II, they are pretty much the same recipe, excepting that II uses melted butter and I uses softened butter. I did as previous reviewers suggested and mixed the filling for 5 minutes, but what's wrong with this recipe can't be fixed by mixing longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Love this!! It's so easy and delicious! I mixed with hand held mixer for 5 minutes and it came out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States