Chocolate Cherry Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These are really good! My only complaint is that they can be a bit too sweet, due to the maraschinos. I've made them a few times already, they're perfect for satisfying a chocolate or cherry craving. mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
A good chewy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I tripled this recipe. These are YUMMY cookies. However, when I tripled it, I needed to add an entire cup of flour just so the dough would hold together. So it seems the ratios do not work in large batches. But these were a HIT with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Excellent cookies. I made these for the second time and they were a big hit. Followed the recipe as written, except I added 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips and about 2 tablespoons of cherry juice. Drizzled them with melted white chocolate after cooling for a beautiful presentation. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Well, they're in the oven now, so I'll rate the taste in a little bit. For now I gave it a three because the batter was SOOOOOO sticky!! Then I didn't want to make 48 so I changed the servings to 24 and in the end I didn't even make a dozen. I really think the servings need to be fixed!!! But after all that trouble, they're worth it! Wow, they taste great!!!!! Perhaps the batter trouble I had was my fault. I didn't have any cocoa powder on hand, so instead of that I added semi-sweet chocolate shavings/small chunks, and omitted the nuts (personal preference). I also added a couple tsp of cherry juice, which was the sticky-making culprit, but they are so good, I wish I would have made lots lots more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are fantastic, so soft, chewy and chocolaty! I have made these twice, each time with a few slight changes. First time: I substituted 1/4 c. wheat flour (which couldn't be tasted - I might try using 1/2 c.); cut back the butter to 1 stick (might cut back 2 more Tbsp next time); cut the sugar to 3/4 c.; and omitted the nuts (personal preference). I also only used 3/4 cup cherries because that's what I got out of a 10 oz. jar, but the boyfriend thought this ended up being the perfect amount of cherries. Second time: Used all white flour (didn't have wheat on hand), same amount of cherries as last time, 1 stick butter (forgot to cut back as planned), only 2/3 c. sugar, 8 Tbsp cocoa and no nuts. I think next time I will use 3/4 c. sugar and 8 Tbsp cocoa. I also might try adding 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (although these are great without them). These would also be good sprinkled with powdered sugar. I got 35 cookies using my little cookie scoop (sorry, not sure what size it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I bake cookies pretty frequently to take to work, and these are by far my coworkers' favorite! I typically add about a half-cup of dark chocolate chips to the recipe for an even chocolatier flavor, but these stand pretty well as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made these for my office cookie swap and based on some of the reviews, I used dried cherries and added white chocolate chips. They were good, but not the "wow" I was hoping for. They didn't have a strong chocolate taste or much cherry flavor. The cookie did stay nice and chewey which I love, so I might try them again with marachino cherries and no white chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
We loved these. Great flavor and texture. Mine were ready in 8 mins. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Fabulous cookies! I made these for a "girls night" and they were a big hit with everyone. The only change I made was to add a cup of chocolate chips to the dough. This recipe could also easily be doubled for a larger gathering. Loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States