Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Love love love this recipe. I slightly modified it after reading other reviews, I nixed the filling and went with maraschino cherries. I also omitted the water and went with my tried and true coffee/milk combo (70% coffee and 30% milk) in its place along with a splash of pure vanilla (NOT extract!). Also, I did not put the cherries in until they had been in the oven about 7-10 minutes. This helped ensure that they stayed in the center. I've tried this in both cupcake and cake form and it's PERFECT everytime! Also, I prefer a chocolate pudding & cool whip frosting to anything else. I chopped some cherries up into tiny pieces, pressed as much liquid out as possible, then blended it in the frosting mix. Absolute heaven, or as the girls at the office call it, chocolate cherry orgasm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I, too, had the issue with the cherry filling falling to the bottom of the cupcake and having blowouts, so next I will try the suggestion of baking them a little before adding the cherry filling. The flavor was very good (gotta love chocolate with cherries!), and I also substituted cream cheese frosting on mine, as it's my fave. I think chocolate frosting would be good, too, if you wanted to stick with just chocolate and cherry flavors. I'll definitely try these again with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Chrysler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
After reading the reviews, we wanted to try and resolve the problem with the cherries sinking to the bottom. I'm happy to report that we did! Don't put the cherry filling in at the beginning. Pour the batter in as directed, place them in the oven and set the timer for 7 minutes. After removing them from the oven, carefully place 2 cherries in the center of each cupcake. They will sink a little but not all the way. It will pretty much stay on top in the center of the cupcake. Continue cooking for 13 more minutes. After cooking you can see the cherries on top a little; however, the icing will cover this. We found this to be a great solution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I have not made this particular recipe but i have done apple pie filling and pb. Bake the cupcakes for about 7 minutes then add the filling and continue baking. If you do this the mix becomes thick enough that the filling won't sink but soft enough that you can still get it close to the middle of the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurenmacom
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I used only 1 cherry and a little filling on the inside of my cupcakes instead of the whole teaspoon, and they sank, but not completely out of the cupcake. There was a layer of cupcake underneath! I was very pleased! And also, I used Devils Food cake cupcake mix and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe. They were done in 15 minutes and nice a moist. They are a little heavy on the bottom with the cherries but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had tons of cherry filling sauce leftover and came across this lovely dessert. Relatively easy, simple to put together and eye catching (pictured above). My only small criticism is that this recipe is based on 24 servings and I ended up with almost 32 cupcakes. I spooned the batter by 1/4 in the paper lined cups then I added a teaspoon of the cherry filling mixture just like the direction indicated. The submitter did not say what to do with all that remaining batter (looked like a lot) so I went ahead and placed the cupcake pan in the oven to bake. It baked within 22 minutes. I did notice the cupcake rose half way up in the paper lined muffin cups exposing the cherry filling. It appeared to be a half of a cupcake, not even 3/4 full. So on my next batch I decided to top a little more batter on top of the cherry filling. This time it rose to the top of the paper muffin cups giving a more rounded cupcake top and looked more like a cupcake. I let all the cupcakes cool completely, about an hour, and then frosted it with cream cheese frosting that I had on hand and added sprinkles. A nice flavor combination of chocolate and sweet cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
oh these are very good and very easy (i am not much of a baker but i pulled this off) the dh really liked them...however i had to use mixed berry piefilling (strawberry, raspberry, blueberry) becoz it is what i had...and used duncan hines chocolate fudge cake mix...i didn't ice them or use the cool whip that i bought we just had them with cookie dough ice cream...;)...very delish...thanks for sharing the recipe...will make them again forsure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great moist cupcakes. The cherries were a little heavy and left a hole in the cupcakes, but still yummy. I used a dark chocolate cake mix to give it a rich flavor. Instead of vanilla frosting I substituted a vanilla cream cheese and topped with a fresh cherry. Next time I am going to try a raspberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I wanted to do a twist on a chocolate covered cherry in cupcake form and found these. I kept reading that the filling was sinking to the bottom. I used maraschino cherries instead of pie filling and only used one. It sank to the bottom the first time around but then I waited 9-10minutes into baking to put it on top and it worked. They came out with the cherry in the middle. I iced mine with chocolate ganache to seem more like a chocolate covered cherry and put one maraschino cherry on top. They were delicious! Just make sure that you put the cherries on a paper towel for a bit so that they don't ruin the cupcake or run into the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States