Chocolate Cherry Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WRamey
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So after reading a lot of the reviews I thought I'd also try this recipe. I made cupcakes. Instead of Vanilla extract I used Almond (my favorite). I filled each cupcake lining half way then added the cherries and a few chocolate chips, then topped each of with more batter. I also like the tip of using some of the cherry juice in the frosting. I eliminated the salt to the frosting as the butter already has salt, and again used Almond extract instead. Can't wait for my friends to try them tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WRamey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
After reading reviews I made my cake with half the sugar, half the milk, applesauce in place of oil, half the chips, & used the cherries & juice (the juice came to about a half cup). Added the chips after 5 minutes of bake time & baked for an additional 25 minutes which was just a bit too long. We used whipped topping since we don't care much for frosting. I didn't give it 5 starts only because it needed some adjustments ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made two small changes when making this cake--I cut the mini chocolate chips back to one cup and instead of using milk in the glaze, I used the juice from the marachino cherries that I reserved for more of a cherry flavor. I did run my cherries through the food processor for a coarse chop, then set them to drain on paper towels before I tossed them with the mini chocolate chips in a little of the flour used in this recipe. This really helped them to sink less in the cake. I did bake this in a glass 9x13 pan, mine was done in just under 35 minutes. My whole family loved this cake, even my husband who's not usually a fan of chocolate and cherries. I would have liked more marachino cherries in the cake. I will make this again but I would double the amount of chopped marachino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I changed this so much I'm almost ashamed to rate it...but I didn't want to use oil, so used butter. Liked the idea of coffee, but reviewers said the batter was too runny so I added a heaping spoonful of instant coffee. Half and half was cheaper than milk, so used that. My batter was too stiff so I used a lot of the juice from the cherries until it was still thick, but pliable. Baked for 50 minutes, until the toothpick came out clean, the cake came out of the pan with no problem and there was no problem with cherries or chocolate chips sinking to the bottom. Loved the flavor the coffee (very subtle) imparted. The icing was a little sparse as I didn't use all the confectioners' sugar called for, but with all the lusciousness of the cake, it really was more for decoration. Definitely a keeper for me with these changes!!! Thanks for the basic ingredient thought-process!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I was craving chocolate and cherry and stumbled upon this recipe. I read the reviews before starting and I also threw my chocolate chips and cherries onto the cake 5 minutes into baking and they all still sunk. It did end up making a super fudgy bottom on the cake which was totally delicious but disappointing cause half of it stuck to the bottom of the pan and I had to scrape it up to serve with each slice. I omitted the buttercream and used maraschino cherry juice instead of coffee - I may use kirsch next time cause the cherry juice didn't seem to make a difference in the flavour and I only got the cherry taste when I bit into the chopped cherries themselves. Overall I did enjoy this cake and will try it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Tasty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Overall, this is a really good recipe, everyone really liked it. It was moist and fudgey. I think next time I will reduce the amount of chocolate chips from 2 cups back to 1 cup. I also ended up baking this for MUCH longer than the time stated in the recipe...almost an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is my main chocolate cake recipe. Whenever I need chocolate cake, I use this recipe and just omit the cherries and chocolate chips. This cake comes out so moist and dark. I use Ghiradelli cocoa to make it even richer. My husband loves it with the cherries, but I'm not a big fan of maraschino cherries. When you put the choc chips it, they do sink no matter what. But in a way, it's good because it creates a thick chocolate layer. Just use parchment paper to line the pan so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought this cake was extremely moist and flavorful. I did make my own frosting with b/c I can't imagine a buttercream with 4 cups of powd. sugar to only one stick of butter. The recipe is exactly the same as the one listed, except you use 2 cups powd. sugar and only 1 tablespoon vanilla. It's plenty sweet and delicious on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Easy, fast, and tasty! I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States