Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the bars version so it is drier than a cake. For the cake version, I add 3 eggs, 1 stick soften butter, and I also take the cherries out and just use the liquid until blended well. I then fold the cherries in so they aren't broken up. The pie filling companies aren't putting many cherries in the can any more. I've been making the cake version for over 25 years now. It is what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Littleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Everyone I have ever made this for loves this cake. I prefer to use a regular chocolate or fudge chocolate cake mix instead of the devils food mix though. I microwave the chocolate chips for the frosting/ganache for 1 minute to make it easier to mix them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aalexander621
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I work in a retirement home I am a chef there so I made a large sheet pan of this for the residents for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The cake was delicious! The icing, too much chocolate for me. I will make it again and dust it with powdered sugar. I think then it will be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattrina Gagne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is the same recipe my mom has been using for years to make her signature Chocolate Cherry Cake! Her specific recipe calls for Betty Crocker Fudge Cake Mix but that is the only difference. I have always loved this cake- the frosting/icing really makes this a very delicious cake! Serve cold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this cake in a 13x9" pan and made some slits in it before pouring the icing over the top. OH MY GOSH!!! You must do this! Make slits or poke holes before icing allows the chocolatey goodness soaks into the cake which makes it even more moist, gooey, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! After tasting this, I think my mom used to make this when I was a child. Bonus! The frosting is fantastic and I will be using it for many other applications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for the mini Chocolate Cherry Cake III that was pinned to Pinterest. A friend of mine love's chocolate and cherries and I thought this would be a great treat for him. If possible please contact me at asotomayor@snet.net .. Thank You. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasotomayor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States