Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
If I make this cake again, I will mix in the eggs, then gently stir in the cherry pie filling. I added the cherries and eggs together which caused the cherries to break up. Would have more flavor if the cherries were in bigger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Made this cake twice and got much better results when I sifted the cake mix to eliminate lumps, slightly beat the eggs before combining with other ingredients, and substituted cherry extract for almond extract. Fast, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
KEEPER! another reason to buy cake mixes and pie filling when on sale. I am more of a 'from scratch' person but am finding wonderful recipes here by embellishing on mixes. I had a can of blueberry pie filling I've been pushing out of the way forever. Used a CLASSIC WHITE mix and BLUEBERRY filling. used VANILLA EXTRACT instead of almond, and added 1/2 of LEMON'S ZEST to batter, as well as a handful of huge frozen blueberries. Don't be afraid of the batter. It reminded me of a bed I made once in nursing school whereby you had to be able to bounce a quarter off it...very strange batter...spongy; bouncy..baked for 32 min in a bundt pan. For frosting I halved the recipe and used WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS in lieu of the chocolate and added the remaining LEMON ZEST from the lemon....absolute perfection. Due to less surface area, it was perfect to halve the frosting recipe for bundt. I didn't taste the cake but the frosting is to die for...taking this to the dog groomer and she will love it coming from a little Shitzhu and Lhasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
This recipe is very rich and moist. The frosting was too much for the whole cake. I would make the cake again but cut the amout of frosting in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This cake tuned out so good. It turns out very rich and moist. Plus, there are different combinations of flavors that are possible. For example, I used apple pie filling and white cake mix with some cinnamon after making the cherry one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I used a 9-inch bundt pan, baked it for 38 minutes. Came out perfect! I made the frosting as written and it compliments the cake nicely. I do agree with alot of others that the frosting can be cut in half. I had enough to frost two cakes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Made this cake using a Bundt pan it came out great. both in taste and appearance. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Family enjoyed. Used devils food cake mix instead of chocolate mix (in pantry) and I made Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. Thanks...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I've made this a couple of times with the satiny chocolate glaze as suggested in another review. It has turned out great. I always try to mix the pie filling in last to more of the cherries intact. It's always very moist & the extract takes away the cake mix taste. It makes a pretty bundt cake decorated as pictured with cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I omitted the sugar, butter, milk or chips. Save the calories. Great texture made in greased bundt pan for 45 Min with powdered sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States