Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Family enjoyed. Used devils food cake mix instead of chocolate mix (in pantry) and I made Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. Thanks...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
The frosting "glaze" is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
KEEPER! another reason to buy cake mixes and pie filling when on sale. I am more of a 'from scratch' person but am finding wonderful recipes here by embellishing on mixes. I had a can of blueberry pie filling I've been pushing out of the way forever. Used a CLASSIC WHITE mix and BLUEBERRY filling. used VANILLA EXTRACT instead of almond, and added 1/2 of LEMON'S ZEST to batter, as well as a handful of huge frozen blueberries. Don't be afraid of the batter. It reminded me of a bed I made once in nursing school whereby you had to be able to bounce a quarter off it...very strange batter...spongy; bouncy..baked for 32 min in a bundt pan. For frosting I halved the recipe and used WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS in lieu of the chocolate and added the remaining LEMON ZEST from the lemon....absolute perfection. Due to less surface area, it was perfect to halve the frosting recipe for bundt. I didn't taste the cake but the frosting is to die for...taking this to the dog groomer and she will love it coming from a little Shitzhu and Lhasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Made this cake using a Bundt pan it came out great. both in taste and appearance. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This cake was to die for!!!! I made it for my dad for his birthday. There were 2 cakes there, and let me just tell you mine was gone before the other had even had a piece gone. I am not a big cake fan but I loved it !!! I will definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This cake tuned out so good. It turns out very rich and moist. Plus, there are different combinations of flavors that are possible. For example, I used apple pie filling and white cake mix with some cinnamon after making the cherry one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I used a 9-inch bundt pan, baked it for 38 minutes. Came out perfect! I made the frosting as written and it compliments the cake nicely. I do agree with alot of others that the frosting can be cut in half. I had enough to frost two cakes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I have had this recipe for years and it is a definate winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Very easy to make. i like a Bundt pan for the appearance. i halved the sugar in the frsoting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I made this recipe in a bundt pan, and cooked it for 30-34 minutes. It turned out great! The icing seems to thicken as it cools, so it's better if it cools slightly before pouring it onto the bundt cake. The cake was huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States