Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I'm not a big fan of cake mix recipes, and this one is not different. It wasn't chocolaty enough or cherry-y enough. I read the reviews before I made it though, and if you go for it, pour the cake mix in the bowl and add the eggs and extract. Stir as well as you can. Then I stirred in half the cherries until well combined and then I folded in the remaining half. There were whole cherries in the cake when it was done, which some people wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I've made this a couple of times with the satiny chocolate glaze as suggested in another review. It has turned out great. I always try to mix the pie filling in last to more of the cherries intact. It's always very moist & the extract takes away the cake mix taste. It makes a pretty bundt cake decorated as pictured with cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Just didn't care for this recipe. Made following directions although I ended up baking for an extra 5 minutes. The cake sank in middle which then caused the frosting to collect in the middle. Cutting and serving were a mess. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I had a last minute dinner party and needed a dessert that included ingredients I had on hand. This cake was a great call! Super easy and very moist. I did cut the icing recipe in half since I made mine a bundt cake. I had to put the leftover cake in the freezer to keep from eating it. Sadly it tasted even better fresh out of the deep freeze!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Super easy and adaptable. My family preferred this without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Made this cake twice and got much better results when I sifted the cake mix to eliminate lumps, slightly beat the eggs before combining with other ingredients, and substituted cherry extract for almond extract. Fast, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I was hoping for a more intense cherry flavor, but found that the cherries were sort of overpowered by the chocolate. I brought the cake to a Valentine's Day-themed dinner meeting, and most people didn't even realize it had cherries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This cake is great! Very moist! I was a bit skeptical b/c the batter was so thick, but it turned out nicely. I used dark chocoalte cake mix and dark chocolate frosting. I didn't have almond extract so I substituted frangelica liquor. Cooked in a bundt pan for 45 minutes and when it was cool I drizzled melted chocolate frosting over the cake. Was quite a hit a work! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this cake last christmas and all of my guests enjoyed it so much ! Even my fault finding sister liked it. Will defenitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Family enjoyed. Used devils food cake mix instead of chocolate mix (in pantry) and I made Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. Thanks...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States