Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The easiest recipe I've ever made considering the rave reviews I got at the potluck I took it to tonight. Yum, yum! Luckly I didn't get asked for the recipe yet... I don't want to reveal how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
My mom made this years ago and called it a Dump Cake. I made mine in bundt pan and cooked for 34 min. I made only half the icing and used white choc chips with a drop of red food coloring. Everyone had seconds! I carefully folded the cherries in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
looks good with chocolalte and cherrys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGOOBS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We didn't make the frosting [we aren't huge frosting lovers here]. We ate our first servings warm from the oven -- those weren't set completely and were more like a bread pudding than a cake. The remainder was refrigerated overnight, and when we had more today, it did end up being like cake with fruit in it. I actually preferred the "pudding" version, but both were fantastic. We'll definitely be making this again, and already have another flavor pair lined up [white cake mix & peach pie filling].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We thought this was wonderful! I did tweak it a tiny bit, but still stayed pretty true to the recipe! I used strawberry/raspberry filling instead, and mixed about a cup of thawed frozen strawberries in with the pie filling before I added it to the cake mix. I saved a cup of the pie filling mixture and poured it on top after the ganache. I think it's best in a 9x13 pan as suggested as its really the ganache and pie filling on top that make it gooey and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is exactly Chocolate Cherry Cake III. I took "MELLO 57" suggestion and blended the pie filling, eggs & extract in the blender first. Actually I only had 1 egg so for the other egg I used 2 Tbsp water, 1 Tbsp oil & 2 tsp baking powder and it worked great. I also added 1/2 c applesauce and 1 c flour-coated semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter. I baked it in a 9X13 pyrex dish for 35 minutes. Wow! This is the most moist cake I've ever had -and I've had a lot! I didn't make the frosting because I added the chocolate chips to the batter and I figured I'd just dust a little powdered sugar on top. At the last minute, my mom twisted my arm and said to put frosting so I cheated and warmed up 1/2 a store bought chocolate frosting in the microwave and poured it on top. If you're a chocoholic then this is paradise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Made this in a bundt pan, and it turned out.. well, just fine, but not as crazy delicious as I expected based on the reviews here. The icing was amazing, but the cake itself was sort of meh: not very rich or moist at all, in my opinion. Next time, I may try making the cake from scratch, and/or adding pudding, and/or adding chopped chocolate chips to the batter to give things an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Wow. Made this as a 10 inch double layer cake for a friend's graduation. Cherry pie filling in the middle and cherry buttercream on top and sides - then covered in fondant. HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
What an easy cake! Tastes delicious, too. Made it according to the recipe, no changes. The only tip I have is to mix everything except the pie filling together, then gently mix in the pie filling. The first time I made it, the cherries disappeared, though the taste was there. By being extra careful, the cherries hold together and make a better cake, IMO. Topped with Chocolate Glaze II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This didnt taste any differnt than chocolate cake. Couldnt taste the cherries much at all. Frosting was good but could have been cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States