Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Everyone loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My mother-in-law made this cake and it was delicious. Quite rich and moist with the cherries and flavorful with the almond extract. The frosting is heavy and I may leave this off or at least cut back on the amount. I like the idea of making it in a Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I used vanilla extract instead of almond. The cake was moist, but nothing special. It tasted like a cake mix. I couldn't even taste the cherries. This is the third time I have made this cake, because of all the good reviews, but I am very disappointed with this cake and will not make it again. I tried it with regular cherry pie filling and black cherry pie filling and the icing with the recipe and canned icing, nothing seemed to make any difference, it's just an ordinary cake that tastes like you used a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M G Maul
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made these into cup cakes instead of the regular cake or Bundt since cup cakes are so popular now. The Cup cakes were super moist and tasted like you were eating a chocolate cover cherry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M G Maul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is a delicious cake, very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sMOEkin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was delicious, and improved even more in the leftover version after being chilled for a day or two. The frosting really makes this! I forgot to add either vanilla or almond extract but it didn't seem to make a difference. I did add vanilla to the frosting, and could have eaten an entire pan of the frosting alone -- which was very similar to my grandmother's fudge. Took all of 10 minutes to throw together. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this yesterday for a potluck and it was all gone. People loved it and said it was very most. I mixed up the cake mix with a fork so it wasn't so lumpy and added just a little cherry filling to make it moist and then folded in the rest of the cherry pie filling. I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla. You could see the cherries and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Loved this cake. So moist and yummy! Baked it in a bundt pan and followed the recipe with no changes. My frosting did turn out gritty though and I noticed a couple other reviewers had the same problem. Not sure why. I boiled it as directed. Cake was perfect though! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
For the frosting: I put 1 cup of powdered sugar (not white sugar) and add 1 teaspoon almond extract to that as well... For the cake: I always add the cherries last and fold in... this is my in-laws favorite and my husbands too... got it from a friend at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used devils food cake mix because it was all I had and vanilla extract instead of almond. I also sifted my cake mix first to break up the clumps and beat the eggs before I added them. This was a very thick batter but it baked to a really moist cake. I can't wait to try other flavor combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States