Chocolate Cherry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This has been a family favorite for 30 years. I substituted lemon cake mix & lemon pie filling. Added the zest of one lemon for my lemon loving friends. Did a white chocolate frosting with the juice of the lemon. Decorated it with sugared lemon peel. Deadly! Choc/cherry still the family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Moist and so easy! Only addition that I highly recommend is 1 tsp almond flavoring to the cake batter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I make this cake a lot! It is rich and yummy. Cherries are my husbands favorite. It is easy to make and the frosting is just like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Have always loved this cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was divine! I followed others suggestions in adding vanilla and almond extracts. I also halved the sugar and used powdered sugar. My six year old and I made this together and got rave reviews. We frosted the cake then put it in the fridge overnight. It was absolute divinity, thanks! EDIT: I made this cake again for a birthday party. To keep the cherries from settling on the bottom I added 1/2 cup of the cake mix to the cherries in a separate bowl. Added the eggs to the remaining cake mix, roughly mixed, then added the cherry mixture and mixed until barely combined but not enough to break up the cherries too bad. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract. I baked for 18 minutes in muffin cups and frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this recipe. It was the TALK of the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used the package chocolate cake mix ,3 eggs, some vanilla (1 tsp) and a 32 oz jar of cherry pie filling but I put in the mixture about 2/3rds of the jar (2 cans work also). That left a little over a cup of filling to use for topping with Cool Whip. USE A BUNDT PAN! It makes a nice presentation. I baked it (it's thick) for about 45 mins until a toothpick comes out clean. Let it rest for about 10 mins then flip onto a plate. Then, instead of the frosting I topped each slice with a dollop of the Cool Whip and a spoon of cherry filling on top of that. Keep refrigerated it even tastes better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
So moist and tasty! I made this into cupcakes for a bake sale, making sure I got at least a couple cherries in each one. I didn't make the frosting, just used cream cheese frosting from the store. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good, and very moist! Made this for a dinner at church, and people were eating it up. Thanks for the recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This cake is so simple to make. I have served with cool-whip. Also with vanilla ice cream & plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I made this cake for my husband's office. It's been less than an hour since they ate it and I've already gotten 3 phone calls raving and asking for the reipe. Only down side, now they want to bake for every occassion. Thank you for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States