Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Wow! Wow! WOW! I just finished making 14 dozen of these for holiday gifts. Now, I consider myself a good cook, but far from a good baker. This was easy and unbelievably tasty! Made a few mods: I hand mixed in the flour and chips/cherries, I didn't do the final 5 minute flip/bake, and I made 7 dozen of them with cranberries (dried) and pecans (chopped) instead of the chocolate/cherry mixture. Also, instead of using the white chocolate, I drizzled vanilla almond bark (half dyed red, half dyed green) over the cooled cookies. They're so pretty! Packaged in cellophane holiday gift bags (after wrapping cookies in waxed paper) and tied with a bow. Can't say it enough how much I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! My gift recipients will thank you too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Used dried cherries instead of candied. I wraped the dough in plastic and chilled.Shapeing the dough into logs while still in the plastic made it simple and had no mess. Stood cookies upright for second baking and reduced cooking time in half, works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I would give these a 10 if I could. There were absolutely amazing. They were a nice compromise between the "orginial" biscotti (which had no fat other than eggs) and the buttery, cookie-like biscotti that most recipes produce. The biscotti cut well without crumbling (which was a problem with many other recipes), they puffed up perfectly, and they store nicely as well--everything you could want in a biscotti recipe! I made a few small changes: I halved the recipe, and cut back the butter by 1 tablespoon (so in the original, I would have used about 1/3 instead of 1/2 cup). I also added about 1/4 cup of toasted, flaked coconut, and I used cashews (out of almonds) instead. At the end, I melted 1/2 cup of white chocolate with a dab of butter and dipped the cooled biscotti in it. A few notes for anyone trying this recipe: I found that it might be helpful to drop the oven temperature to 250-300 after the first baking, since the outside of my biscotti was browning a little faster than it was crisping. Also, I did not grease my pan after the first baking (as suggested in the recipe), and though I had no problems with my non-stick pan, the biscotti on my other baking pan did stick a little bit. Overall, this is a great recipe, and one that I would use over and over again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
The biscotti are good, but I have a few mentions - #1 when I printed the recipe it had no oven temperature #2 It calls for 1/2 cup white confectioners coating - and in step 7 it says to Drizzle cookies with melted white choc - Confectioners coating & white choc are not the same thing. If your out buying ingredients by those listed you wouldn't have the white choc to melt! Oh and just so you know - If you want two batches make them seperate and do not double the recipe - They don't turn out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nowanorris
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe was very simple and quite tasty. Great cookie for dunking! I know a lot of people have complained about not being able to "drizzle" the white chocolate as it never seems to get thin enough in the microwave. I used white chocolate chips and put them in the microwave for about 30 seconds on 50% power...stirred...then did another 20 seconds. The chocolate was actually warm, not too hot to handle. So at that point I spooned the melted chocolate into a small ziploc bag and snipped off a very small cut from the corner. I was then easily able to squeeze and pipe the chocolate onto the biscotti. Made it so easy! You can see the result from the photo I just uploaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My biscotti turned out perfect following this recipe. They were absolutely delicious. For those of you that said your biscotti crumbled, make sure you cut while they are still warm (7-10 minutes after taking out of oven). The key is also using a good quality serrated (bread) knife to cut. If you do this and follow the recipe directions, your biscotti should not crumble. I agree with others that commented, you don't need to cook that long after you flip. You just need to dry them out a little more. You can even turn down the heat in the oven. Great recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These were difficult to work with -- even with a serrated bread knife. They crumble and consequently, they're hard to do at a full 10" size. Nevertheless, they look lovely and people love receiving them as a gift. They are softer than other recipes because of their butter. If you prefer a firmer, crispier biscotti for dunking, look for recipes where egg is the only fat in the ingredients list. As for candied cherries, those are the little syrupy cherries that are sold in small, round tubs. They're usually with the seasonal baking stuff--you would find them wherever you find those tubs of chopped fruit that people use in fruitcakes. The only difference is that the fruitcake mix is multicolored and includes pineapple and candied citrus peel (which I never liked as a kid). But basically, it's the same thing. You could probably get away with using marachino cherries, but the candied cherries are "waxier" and have less moisture. However, they are brighter and moister than dried cherries/cranberries. The chocolate and cherries make this recipes pricey to pull off--but like I said, it looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I loved this biscotti recipe. The texture was just like I want...not hard as a brick, and doesn't fall apart in my coffee. The cherry/chocolate combination is always delicious, but I'm sure I'll make it again with other ingredients for a change. I gave some away as gifts and kept the rest for myself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are soooo good! Sometimes for Christmas I substitute peppermint extract for the almond, and it gives these biscotti a nice flavor. Makes them especially good with hot cocoa!! I make these every year for Christmas gatherings & gifts and they are always well-received. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm making my second batch today as I type this... yum! I made them exactly as the recipe called for and didn't have any problems with stickiness of the dough. I did make sure to weigh each half to ensure that I had similar sized logs. I dipped the bottoms in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then drizzled melted white baking chocolate on the tops. I baked them exactly as the recipe called for, including flipping them over. Perfect! I can see that if you increased the chips or the cherries that the dough might not be stable enough to hold together well, so stick to about 1/2 cup of each. There is plenty to make it look pretty AND taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States