Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My biscotti turned out perfect following this recipe. They were absolutely delicious. For those of you that said your biscotti crumbled, make sure you cut while they are still warm (7-10 minutes after taking out of oven). The key is also using a good quality serrated (bread) knife to cut. If you do this and follow the recipe directions, your biscotti should not crumble. I agree with others that commented, you don't need to cook that long after you flip. You just need to dry them out a little more. You can even turn down the heat in the oven. Great recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I made this Biscotti for Valentine's Day, and it was a huge hit! The only thing I changed were the add-ins, NOT any of the ingredients to the dough itself. I'm not sure what happened to some of the other reviewers, but this was a great recipe, and I had absolutely no trouble working with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
They turned out great. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very disappointing! After reading the reviews I was excited to try these. The taste was just ok (and I know this because I tested all the pieces that broke as I tried to prepare the cookies), but they were very messy to slice leaving the final product not something that I would put out for company or give to anyone. This recipe is proof that just because something has chocolate in it, doesn't necessarily make it great. Sorry. There are better biscotti recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
These looked and tasted great. After they were cut up, I put them in the oven turned off the heat and left them in for hours. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Biscotti is my favorite cookie to make. So easy and tasty. Plus they can be stuffed full of nutritious foods like dried fruit and nuts. You can put in as much additions that you want and any variety to make the basic dough have all kinds of delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Wow! Wow! WOW! I just finished making 14 dozen of these for holiday gifts. Now, I consider myself a good cook, but far from a good baker. This was easy and unbelievably tasty! Made a few mods: I hand mixed in the flour and chips/cherries, I didn't do the final 5 minute flip/bake, and I made 7 dozen of them with cranberries (dried) and pecans (chopped) instead of the chocolate/cherry mixture. Also, instead of using the white chocolate, I drizzled vanilla almond bark (half dyed red, half dyed green) over the cooled cookies. They're so pretty! Packaged in cellophane holiday gift bags (after wrapping cookies in waxed paper) and tied with a bow. Can't say it enough how much I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! My gift recipients will thank you too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
These are wonderful, especially dunked in a cup of cappuccino. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, and used the exact amount of flour that the recipe called for, and I too found the dough to be too sticky. What I did was spooned it onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, in two long shapes. Then I floured my hands really well, and kind of formed them into the rectangles while on the parchment paper. Next time I will add more flour like others suggested. I also had a problem getting my white chocolate to drizzle. I ended up throwing my first batch of the white chocolate away, and the next time I melted it in a glass bowl over a pot of low boiling water and added a little bit (1/2 Tbls) of vegetable shortening to it. That made it easier to drizzle. After the obstacles, they turned out great, with a very good flavor. I plan to make these again and give them away as holiday gifts in little plastic holiday bags. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Awesome! I've made these for tons of people, and now get regular requests for both the recipe and the end product. btw, no idea where you get 'candied' cherries, but I chopped up maraschino cherries and they work great. I like my biscotti a bit softer than traditional biscotti...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
White chocolate would not "drizzle" so I dipped the bottoms of the cookies instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States