Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was my least favorite out of six biscotti recipes from this site. I had to substitute maraschino cherries for the candied cherries as I did not have any. Not sure if that is the reason why or not, but this biscotti was not real crisp and hard like I like it to be. Hubby and I both disliked how soft they turned out but thought the flavor combo was pretty good. Try this recipe but use the candied cherries and maybe bake it a few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love my kids
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These are wonderful. I'm looking forward to giving some of these as gifts! I used white chocolate chips in order to eliminate chopping the chocolate for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
this recipe was great! i used white chocolate chunks and added almonds as well. next time, i will take the rolls out a little sooner for ease when slicing. all in all, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Didn't make this recipe for any holiday...just because I had the ingredients and had never made Biscotti but wanted to try. I used green candied cherries and regular size chocolate chips. I do agree the minis would be nicer. This is a good shortbread-like cookie that's good with a cup of hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nowanorris
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe was very simple and quite tasty. Great cookie for dunking! I know a lot of people have complained about not being able to "drizzle" the white chocolate as it never seems to get thin enough in the microwave. I used white chocolate chips and put them in the microwave for about 30 seconds on 50% power...stirred...then did another 20 seconds. The chocolate was actually warm, not too hot to handle. So at that point I spooned the melted chocolate into a small ziploc bag and snipped off a very small cut from the corner. I was then easily able to squeeze and pipe the chocolate onto the biscotti. Made it so easy! You can see the result from the photo I just uploaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was awesome!!! I love almond, cherries and chocolate, what a better combination than all three in a biscotti. I had attempted to make biscotti once before and it completely crumbled on me after the first baking, I followed the directions exact, and even measured my oven with a gauge, but they baked too long. This recipe I baked the first round for 25 minutes and I noticed they were a little under baked in the center, but that was much better than over baked because the second round of baking completed it. I'm not a big fan of white chocolate...especially since it's not really chocolate so I opted to leave mine plain, I even had the white "chocolate" melts ready, but I think it would have ruined the wonderful flavors. I will be making this again very soon. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wonderful! Love the flavor that the almond extract adds. Not a fan of white chocolate, used semi-sweet instead and they look and taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Wow. Just wow. I'd never made biscotti before so I was a little worried it wouldn't come out very well. I made them for a family get together along with two other kinds and got a lot of compliments from everyone on all three, even the high-and-mighty chef uncle. I will definitely be making these again soon, even if it's just for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Fantastic! I'm my husband's hero after baking these!! I have made them for a couple years now, I always cut the sugar back (use 2/3c), use dried cranberries instead of cherries & white chocolate chunks instead of choc. chips, sometimes I use 1/4c applesauce & 1/4c butter...depends on my mood :-) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This biscotti is delicious! It was a big hit at Christmas with my friends. I had to make additional batches!! Great combination of chocolate, cherries and almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States