Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made these several times and found that if you follow the ingredients exactly, and make 2 ten inch loaves as the recipe calls for, your recipe will turn out perfectly. With my oven, I need to bake them a little longer than stated in order to get them a little more crunchy. I love these! They look beautiful with the white and dark chocolate drizzled over the top and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are wonderful cookies. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 C...perfect, used dried cherries, and added coursely chopped toasted almonds. Take note: These are not like traditional biscotti. They are not hard, as you might want a good dipping cookie to be. Instead, they are more soft- like a cookie. You will love the flavor! Ciao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm making my second batch today as I type this... yum! I made them exactly as the recipe called for and didn't have any problems with stickiness of the dough. I did make sure to weigh each half to ensure that I had similar sized logs. I dipped the bottoms in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then drizzled melted white baking chocolate on the tops. I baked them exactly as the recipe called for, including flipping them over. Perfect! I can see that if you increased the chips or the cherries that the dough might not be stable enough to hold together well, so stick to about 1/2 cup of each. There is plenty to make it look pretty AND taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made these just as the recipe says and they turned out brilliantly! They look and taste beautiful. I'll definitely be making these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Easy to make, if a bit time consuming. Changed the recipe by using Dried Cherries in place of candied. See picture above. (wordsmythwmn). Too-Lish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent recipe. I ran out of candied cherries, but had some dried cherries to supplement and the combo was great. I had no problems with crumbly biscotti as others said in their reviews. I used my Wusthof Serrated Knife and cut while the biscotti was still warm - just a few minutes out of the oven. For the seconding baking (after cutting the biscotti), I turned my oven down to 325 and cooked the full 8 minutes on one side then 5 minutes the other. They came out perfect. Once cooled, I dipped the bottoms in chocolate (about 6 ounces with 2 TBLS butter over double broiler) instead of drizzling on top because I wanted to bite into a nice thick coat of chocolate (I'm a chocoholic, what can I say?) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made these today for a coffee morning with friends. Oh they are just so delicious. Used a combination of white chocolate and milk chocolate chips and then finished with both milk and white chocolate. I do cook my biscotti always on wax paper, allow to cool for 10 minutes before cutting (never have a problem with crumbling biscotti), then through the wax paper away and cook on each side for a further 10 minutes. Will certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good flavor, although the dough is a bit hard to work with--very sticky. (This is my first attempt at biscotti, so I wouldn't know if that's how it should be.) I would add more cherries next time as I found myself looking for the biscotti that had the most cherries in them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Salm Klysen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I've been making biscotti for 20 yrs. but this recipe crumbled when I tried to cut it. I'll bake for a shorter time if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
this was my first time making biscotti and they turned out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States