Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I made these last year for Christmas and had requests for more!! They were a huge hit!! I was hoping to make them this month to take to a friend visiting from out-of-state, but can't find the candied cherries (they were delicious) so will try to find the dried cherries or use maraschino as others mentioned. Make sure to make plenty!! Update: 12/15/06 These were excellent with a combination of marachino & dried cherries -- maybe even more flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I made a batch of these for Christmas gifts. I placed several sliced biscotti in tissue paper-lined decorative tins and sent them to friends all over the country! Everyone told me how good they were (the cookies travel well)!!! I used chopped Christmas candies (i.e. the red and green stuff), but I think the recipe calls for something different, perhaps marchino cherries. I'll try with those next time. As prepared, I'd give these 4 stars, but if I try with marschino cherries next time, I think they'd be better and deserving of all 5 stars. Some of my biscotti burned, but I just threw those pieces out (there weren't many anyways). My biscotti looked just like ccox's picture (wow!). Not too bad for my first attempt at making biscotti : ) Very eye appealing and gift-giving appropriate!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
The best biscotti I've ever had. I don't normally like biscotti, and I'm not a big fan of candied cherries, but I had find a way to use them up, and this was perfect. I found they took a little longer to crisp up than suggested, and I drizzled them with dark chocolate instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I made these for the holidays along with another biscotti from this site. They were so good; I just finished that last of these out of the freezer the other day. I will be making another batch to freeze, as they freeze well and are excellent to take out and have with coffee! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Sarah May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were great. I made them for christmas gifts and I ended up having to give out the recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saradipity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I used Cranraisins instead of dried cherries because they didn't carry them at the supermarket closest to my house. My husband said these were his favorite, I thought they were a little dry. But, he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was wonderful but I had a trouble with it not gettin done. I think my oven temp is off. Anyway, other than it being a bit crumbly it was really good. It got gobbled up when I took it to our family Christmas gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These were difficult to work with -- even with a serrated bread knife. They crumble and consequently, they're hard to do at a full 10" size. Nevertheless, they look lovely and people love receiving them as a gift. They are softer than other recipes because of their butter. If you prefer a firmer, crispier biscotti for dunking, look for recipes where egg is the only fat in the ingredients list. As for candied cherries, those are the little syrupy cherries that are sold in small, round tubs. They're usually with the seasonal baking stuff--you would find them wherever you find those tubs of chopped fruit that people use in fruitcakes. The only difference is that the fruitcake mix is multicolored and includes pineapple and candied citrus peel (which I never liked as a kid). But basically, it's the same thing. You could probably get away with using marachino cherries, but the candied cherries are "waxier" and have less moisture. However, they are brighter and moister than dried cherries/cranberries. The chocolate and cherries make this recipes pricey to pull off--but like I said, it looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Good biscotti cookie..I even added 1cup instead of a 1/2 cup of choc chips(wasn't paying attention) and I used dried cherries instead of candied cherries. I think I would like to try the candied cherries if I can find them beacuse I think that would be a sweeter cherry flavor. My second bake I stood cookies up and only baked for 5minutes. Very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States