Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
FANTASTIC! I have to admit that I have not had good luck making biscotti in the past, but figured I would try this recipe b/c it sounded so good...They turned out perfectly!!!!! My only change was to use maraschino cherries instead of candied. Next time I make these, I may make the logs smaller to produce a smaller biscotti, b/c I just like a smaller cookie. This is def a new go-to recipe for biscotti...you can basically add in anything, and I plan to try other flavor combos, though this was a definite favorite. A keeper, for sure~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I LOVED these cookies! I so did not expect these to be like any biscotti I have tried with the maraschino cherries, which I presumed was used from the main picture. However, they were even better. They remind me of all sorts of Italian cookies I have tried. They are actually not excessively sweet like I thought they would be. I chose not to add the white chocolate. I thought they were perfectly sweet as is. However, I might do a few that way for a pic to post. My only changes were using just 1 teaspoon of almond extract and 1 teaspoon of water for the missing liquid. Almond extract can be very strong. It was just right in that amount to me. With the cherries I chopped them first and let them drain well on paper towel so that I didn't end up with pink biscotti. I liked the use of the mini chocolate chips. They are my preferred type to use. I also used salted butter and it did not say. I noticed though that the bake time is slightly off. On the first bake as loaves it took 31-32 minutes and then I cooled them completely to avoid breaking when slicing. After cutting, I had to bake them 19-20 minutes, flipped them, then an additional 4 minutes. I baked them each time on parchment and suggest that. I got 36 cookies total. I am going to add these to my recipe box for next Christmas. It is definitely a festive looking cookie. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Very festive looking cookie, and delicious too! Make sure to slice when they are still warm, otherwise they will crumble. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was my first try at biscotti and what a nice recipe to use. They turned out great and the best thing is that I have enough ingredients to make a second batch. These will make a nice addition to my cookie trays this Christmas. (If my hubby doesn't eat them all first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used macchiato cherries cause I couldn't find any dried candied ones. Baking them now! So excited to see how they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My husband took these to work and his entire clinic devoured them. Even my husband, who does not like sweets, enjoyed this biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I make alot of biscotti recipes from this site. I made these but used cranberries instead of cherrys but that was preference. I cut the cranberries in half. I thought they were a little dry but very good. Maybe next time I will cut down on the flour a little so they wont be crumbly and a little dry. The taste was delicious with the mini chips and cranberries....thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my very first time making biscotti and it turned out beautifully! I followed the recipe exactly and they were a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was so good and super easy!! I will definitely be adding this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made these this afternoon. They were very easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States