Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I was able to "slim down" this recipe, and it still tasted great. I used light cream cheese, egg substitute, skim sweetened condensed milk, and smart balance spread instead of butter. I also used 60% cocoa bittersweet chips to take advantage of the dark chocolate hype. It did not crack, travelled well for the holidays and baked at exactly the time specifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Although the cake did crack straight down the middle, it tasted great and was a big hit! Next time, I'll probably use the steam bath others have recommended for making cheesecakes, but otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I took a shortcut and used two 9 inch ready made crusts and the filling was enough to fill both crusts to the very top. I added 1/4 cup coffee liquor and topped with a chocolate cream sauce. This is really good, but I won't serve this after a large meal like Thanksgiving dinner again, people just aren't in the mood for a rich heavy dessert like this after eating themselves sick. Even though it was delicious, I ended up throwing half of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This cheesecake was amazing, although I did end up with a crack down the middle. Instead of the graham cracker crust, I crushed a 1 1/2 cups of oreo cookies (w/o cream), 1/4 cup of sugar, and 1/4 cup of butter. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
To Soloman...I think you were supposed to melt the chips before you put it in the mix. And cracks are normally caused by not mixing the cream cheese very well, or the temperature and timing not being exact. It's tough to make a perfect cheesecake. Delicious recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe was great and delicious. I recommed checking the cake about 20 mins early. I am a college student and along with my friend this was the first time making a cheesecake. It was very easy to make and my roomates loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Gotta love it! Not only were there minimal ingredients, it was fast and easy. Heck it only took me a minute and a half to melt the chocolate chips! To top it all off, the cook time was right down to the very last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this cheesecake as a dessert for thanksgiving for those who dont like pumpkin pie, and trust me it was gone within minutes. Everyone loved it! Instead of using milk chocolate, i used white chocolate and followed the recipe completely and it was delicious. A piece of advice would be to bake the cheesecake in a water bath and do not open the oven door for at least two hours: this prevents it from cracking and ensures a smooth texture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Can anyone say "Heaven in a springform?!?!?" Oh, I can, my mom can, and my dear husband can. Oh, Lord...it was to die for!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was great!I did mess up and the chocolate chips went to the bottom but it was a good mistake everyone loved it just like it was. And they want me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States