Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I was able to "slim down" this recipe, and it still tasted great. I used light cream cheese, egg substitute, skim sweetened condensed milk, and smart balance spread instead of butter. I also used 60% cocoa bittersweet chips to take advantage of the dark chocolate hype. It did not crack, travelled well for the holidays and baked at exactly the time specifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This recipe was good, but even better the second day. I am only giving it 4 stars because it is incredibly rich. Too much dessert after a meal, would be perfect if you were having company over for "just dessert". Very easy to make, I also divided it into 2 ready made graham cracker crust pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this cheesecake as a dessert for thanksgiving for those who dont like pumpkin pie, and trust me it was gone within minutes. Everyone loved it! Instead of using milk chocolate, i used white chocolate and followed the recipe completely and it was delicious. A piece of advice would be to bake the cheesecake in a water bath and do not open the oven door for at least two hours: this prevents it from cracking and ensures a smooth texture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I took a shortcut and used two 9 inch ready made crusts and the filling was enough to fill both crusts to the very top. I added 1/4 cup coffee liquor and topped with a chocolate cream sauce. This is really good, but I won't serve this after a large meal like Thanksgiving dinner again, people just aren't in the mood for a rich heavy dessert like this after eating themselves sick. Even though it was delicious, I ended up throwing half of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IsaacTheBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is an amazing cheesecake. Thick and rich. However, the first time I made it, it billowed up, then sank in. It also had many cracks in it. There was also enough batter for about two cheesecakes that size. It still tasted amazing, though. But I thought to myself, "this recipe definitely needs a water bath, but it doesn't call for one." So the next time I made it, I used a 10 inch spring-form pan (recipe calls for 9 inch), then I greased the sides and the bottom of it (recipe says not to grease), I used a water bath (recipe doesn't mention anything about a water bath), I let it sit in the oven for an hour after the cooking time was up (recipe didn't call for that), and last but not least, I put a round pizza pan over it after I took it out, and let it sit for about 4 hours. The cheesecake ended up turning out perfect--taste wise and look wise. The reason why I only gave it 4 stars, is because the directions for this recipe are not good. Use a 10 inch spring form pan, grease the bottom and sides of it, use a water bath, let sit in the oven (door closed and heat off) for an hour after baking time is up, and put a round pizza pan (or cookie sheet) over it after taking it out; if you follow those directions, your cheesecake will turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IsaacTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
To Soloman...I think you were supposed to melt the chips before you put it in the mix. And cracks are normally caused by not mixing the cream cheese very well, or the temperature and timing not being exact. It's tough to make a perfect cheesecake. Delicious recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Can anyone say "Heaven in a springform?!?!?" Oh, I can, my mom can, and my dear husband can. Oh, Lord...it was to die for!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe, but it didn't look anything like the picture. I'm not sure if maybe i messed up with the morsels, but all of them were on the bottom of the cheesecake, i may have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a classic chocolate cheesecake recipe. It is very rich so plan on serving small slices! It also doesn't need a thing in the way of accompaniment, unless you count a simple garnish when plating. The directions for this recipe are a little lacking, so for beginner cheesecake bakers, a few tips. Be sure to have your cream cheese and eggs at room temperature. Add the eggs one at a time and beat on low speed only until each is just blended, stopping to scrape down the bowl before adding the next. Over beating at this stage will ensure a cracked top. Another sure fire way to avoid a cracked top is to leave the cake in the oven when finished baking, with the heat off and the door ajar, until oven is cool. Then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It turns out exactly as the picture. I love this one! Very rich and delicious. Family and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States