Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I used 2 9 inch pre-done graham cracker crusts, and there was a little left over after I filled them to the top. I put that in a ramekin without graham cracker crumbs, just butter, and that was the sh*t! Used a water bath for it... The pies were ok, very rich, unedable without whipped cream, but the crustless ramekin warm was to die for! I am going to just to that next time and see how it is. Warm liquid chocolate at the bottom...no crust to fill you up...oh man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a classic chocolate cheesecake recipe. It is very rich so plan on serving small slices! It also doesn't need a thing in the way of accompaniment, unless you count a simple garnish when plating. The directions for this recipe are a little lacking, so for beginner cheesecake bakers, a few tips. Be sure to have your cream cheese and eggs at room temperature. Add the eggs one at a time and beat on low speed only until each is just blended, stopping to scrape down the bowl before adding the next. Over beating at this stage will ensure a cracked top. Another sure fire way to avoid a cracked top is to leave the cake in the oven when finished baking, with the heat off and the door ajar, until oven is cool. Then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I myself don't care for chocolate, but I wanted to make a chocolate and a regular cheesecake for a friend's birthday. I used this recipe for the chocolate one, and after stirring in the chocolate chips I suddenly thought to myself, "wait a minute... I bet anything I was supposed to melt these." Yep. So I ended up with a chocolate chip cheesecake rather than chocolate batter. That mishap not withstanding, it got great reviews from the birthday boy, and also my brother said it was - hands down - the best cheesecake he had ever had! I made a different crust than directed only because I prepared two crusts before picking the recipes. I also had only reduced fat cream cheese on hand and everyone said it was still very, very rich. I topped it with a cup of cool whip beaten with a tablespoon of chocolate milk mix... mostly to disguise the crack that formed on the top of the cake, but it complimented the flavor of the cheesecake nicely. I'll definately try this again and MELT the chocolate, but if I want to make a chocolate chip cheesecake again I'll use this recipe and 'forget' to melt the chips! Perhaps I'll also try melted butterscotch or white chocolate chips! That's a flavor I could go for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made this yesterday for our Mothers Day cookout and it was a huge hit with everyone! It was my first time making a cheesecake and I was very happy with how easy & yummy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriRose89

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I followed this recipe almost exactly. Instead of using all regular cream cheese, I used 1 regular, and two fat free. And for my crust since I don't care for graham crackers I used Nilla wafers, this is also because I made them into mini cheesecakes using paper cupcake liners. I baked them for 17 minutes at 350 and they came out great. They were delicious. I also topped them with some cherry pie filling for added yumminess. I am taking them to a baby shower today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
def a very good cheesecake. however it was a bit dense. i don't know if it was because i beat it by hand or not. I did alter the crust a little bit. I used chocolate graham crackers and i didn't have a springform pan. so i used little ramekins, pushed the crust in them, but then i refrigerated them before i put the filling in to help solidify the crust. other than that. totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Odenton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It's so dense & heavy! The crust was sticky, crunchy and chewy - like toffy! It stuck to the bottom of my springform pan. I will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! I tried the tricks everyone suggested regarding cracks, and it actually made a HUGE crack. (using a water pan in the oven, leaving in the oven for an hour after done baking). It was great, but I normally don't have too much trouble with cracks, so I may leave those steps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe is very very heavy. If you eat any kind of filling meal, you won't be able to finish even a moderate slice of this. I am a bottomless pit for food but after you get halfway through one of these slices it starts to become a chore to finish. I recommend a regular good cheesecake recipe with a chocolate garnish or some kind of non overwhelming chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IsaacTheBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is an amazing cheesecake. Thick and rich. However, the first time I made it, it billowed up, then sank in. It also had many cracks in it. There was also enough batter for about two cheesecakes that size. It still tasted amazing, though. But I thought to myself, "this recipe definitely needs a water bath, but it doesn't call for one." So the next time I made it, I used a 10 inch spring-form pan (recipe calls for 9 inch), then I greased the sides and the bottom of it (recipe says not to grease), I used a water bath (recipe doesn't mention anything about a water bath), I let it sit in the oven for an hour after the cooking time was up (recipe didn't call for that), and last but not least, I put a round pizza pan over it after I took it out, and let it sit for about 4 hours. The cheesecake ended up turning out perfect--taste wise and look wise. The reason why I only gave it 4 stars, is because the directions for this recipe are not good. Use a 10 inch spring form pan, grease the bottom and sides of it, use a water bath, let sit in the oven (door closed and heat off) for an hour after baking time is up, and put a round pizza pan (or cookie sheet) over it after taking it out; if you follow those directions, your cheesecake will turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IsaacTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States