Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe has made me a hero to my hubby!! I put a cake pan with boiling water in the oven below my cheesecake (not touching) and it seems to have fixed the cracking problem. This is a delicious chocolate cheesecake, and a recipe I'll definitely be keeping in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This cheesecake is wonderful! I made it for a Christmas party. I sprinkled a little bit of crushed candy cane in the middle and topped it with whipped cream and crushed candy cane. The recipe was easier than others I have tried and this is the first cheesecake I have made that didn't crack on top! I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mana Paddock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
We just ate this and it is very good! It's rich, as all cheesecakes are meant to be, but not sickeningly rich. I made this into a triple chocolate cheesecake by substituting finely crushed chocolate animal crackers for the graham cracker crumbs (it took 5 oz. of cookies to make 1 1/4 cup of crumbs) and reserving a 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips to sprinkle on the top. A few of the chocolate chips sunk a bit too deep into the batter and caused the surface to crack somewhat near the center, but it was not too much of a detriment. The cheesecake was still very pretty, and delicious! Today is my husband's birthday, and he asked for this triple chocolate cheesecake in lieu of a traditional birthday cake. After eating a piece, he said it was just what he wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I tried the recipe, and made two batches of the batter. One batch without any chocolate, the other with melted Godiva chocolate (one dark chocolate bar, one milk chocolate bar, both mixed together), in place of melted chocolate chips, and with only one cup of chocolate, rather than two cups, to make the richness be a little less. I also used the pre-made graham cracker crusts in place of crushing graham crackers, and then also crushed chocolate graham crackers for the rest of the crust, including mini cheesecakes. This was definitely a good recipe, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a very good, fuss-free chocolate cheesecake. I plugged in what ingredients I had on hand and voila, this is what the site told me I could make. If you use a steam bath and your cheesecake still cracks, that is either where you cut it or where the whipped cream, chocolate curls, chocolate topping, or berries go, right? Don't listen to reviews from people who change or don't follow the recipe (like putting whole chocolate chips in) and then don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
First time making a cheesecake and it came out fantastic. I used fat free cream cheese and condensed milk and it still came out very rich. I also replaced one cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips with Reese's peanut butter chips, to make it a Peanut Butter Cheesecake...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was definitely a hit! Everything about it was great except that the top cracked. I put the pan of water in the oven and left the cake in the oven overnight to cool, then placed it in the fridge with an airtight cover. I topped it with sliced strawberries and no one was the wiser. Next time I'll definitely cut it before taking it though as we had a royal mess. It crumbled apart as if it were slightly too dry. It tasted great and taste-wise, the texture was good, but very difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This cheesecake was great, however it was too rich. Even in small slivers, I can see what another reviewer meant by this being "too cheesy." Now I see why some recipes have a bit of sour or whipping cream in them; it lightens the mouthfeel. That said, a little cool whip helped lighten this up a bit. I think fresh berries could also do the same. This was my 2nd cheesecake. So a couple of things I did with this one that made my cheesecake better in general...First, everything needs to be at room temp. I beat the cream cheese with a mixer to soften it. I folded in the milk, then did a short, low-speed mixer beating to get out clumps. Seperately, I lightly whisked the eggs, and folded them and all the other ingredients into the cheese and milk mixture. I got a silky texture, rather than moussey, which was what I wanted. Water bath is a good idea. I don't have an oven-safe dish big enough to fit my 10" springform, so I filled a dish with water and put it on the rack below. It kept the oven a little more humid, and avoided cracks (which I had too many of in my first cheesecake). Once I poured it in the pan, I tapped the whole thing on the counter a few times. Big bubbles came up, so I'm glad I did that before I started baking. I baked 70 min, turned oven off, used wet knife to seperate edges more, and left oven door ajar for 2 hours before refridgerating. This also helped avoid cracks. Also, my usual crust is graham crackers, walnuts and butter. It worked well with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was my first cheescake, I followed directions exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
The baking time is way off on this. The recipe says bake for 65 minutes at 300 degrees. After considerably more than two hours at this temp. , mine was still soft in the middle, but I was out of time, so I had to take it out. The middle collapsed. I can't take it to the party and have to go and buy another dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States