Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I took this cheesecake to a luncheon where it received rave reviews. The topping was too thick and hard to my liking, but it didn't hurt the taste. The next time I will cut the topping recipe in half. GREAT CHEESECAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Was very good, easy to make but I did not like the topping. I felt the topping was to hard and thick. You almost needed a knife to cut through, uneven chunks came off when you would take a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Pretty good, and very rich! Almost too rich for me. I used double chocolate Ghiradeli chips. I used this recipe, put it in a 10-inch springform, and made the batter of a white chocolate cheesecake recipe and poured it on top. I tried to swirl it, but it didn't really work. I ommited the topping. The two worked very well together. Topped with pureed strawberries, fresh whipped cream, mint leaves and a whole strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This chocolate cheesecake is very good, particularly if you use good quality chocolate to prepare it (I like Ghirardelli). But, I found the chocolate topping to be far too thick on top of the creamy cheesecake. I'd go with more cream and less chocolate in the ganache topping and spread a smaller quantity on top of the cake. Sometimes less is more. I also chilled my cheesecake first before adding the topping. Overall, a very good (and rich!) dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe is easy and taste really good. Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very rich and very yummy. The topping makes it look perfect. It doesn't even matter if you get a crack in the top. Was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Will replace my old recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Excellent! I made this for a San Fran themed dinner party and used Ghirardhelli chocolate, reduced fat cream cheese and added an extra 1/4 c. cream to the ganache - it was fabulous!! I also made a Raspberry Sauce with a package of frozen raspberries and 1/2 c. sugar reduced over high heat and strained...it was an exellent addition and contrasted with the sweet cake! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. The texture is a blend of cheesecake and mousse. Everyone loved it when I took it to a family gathering. I used chocolate graham crackers instead of the cookies and it was delicious. I especially like the topping because it covers any cracks so you have a perfect cheesecake every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Great recipe. Easy to make, excellent results. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Amazing! I took this to a group game night with some friends and everyone loved it. One thing; I didn't have a springform pan so I made it in a 10 inch cake pan. When I was ready to cut into it and serve, I just dipped the bottom of the pan in hot water for about 20-45 seconds and it came out very nicely. No crumbling or mess. Also, it came out of the oven with only one small crack and that was covered up with the topping. No big deal. This is very rich cake and if a more subtle flavor is desired, I wouldn't recommend it. However, if you are a chocolate lover and you like rich flavors, this is an incredible cheesecake and definitely worth the effort. Great recipe Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States