Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was a great cheesecake, but the other reviewers are right - way too much chocolate on top. Was heavy and thick (1/2-inch)and did weigh down the cake. I am going to make it again today, but without the topping. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and it was super. Thanks! Just what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wonderful, Fabulous recipe. This one is definitely a keeper. I used milk chocolate chips instead. After the cook time I turned the oven off and without opening the oven left it in for 1 hour. I also used a waterbath which prevented cracking. I cut the topping in half for fear it would be too heavy and sink the cake. It was perfect!! Thank you, I will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I omitted the topping, but this cheesecake didn't need it. VERY RICH! But VERY good. I actually used an 8" round pan, and there was way too much batter. When I went to take it out, it had formed a very large sort of mushroom top. So I went crazy and cut the top off, to find that the middle was still liquid. Put it back in for a while, took it out and it was dry on top but moist in the middle. Turned out great that way. I sort of made a crumbly topping accidentally just by overcooking it ;). Haha. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I looked for a long time for a chocolate cheesecake recipe that looked right to me...and this was it. I changed a few things based on the reviews I read. I used oreo cookies for the crust. I also doubled the cream for the topping, and I split the chips. I used half semi-sweet chocolate and half white chocolate. I drizzled the white chocolate over the regular and it looked outstanding! I also did the strawberries which was just the icing on the cake. My brother and sister-in-law stayed the night for Mother's Day and I woke up the next morning and they were eating the rest for breakfast! It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband requests this cheesecake each year now for his birthday. It is much better than what you pay $8/slice for at Cheesecake Factory, etc. I use the crushed oreos for crust as well. It's one of the best cheesecakes I've ever had and I will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars because everyone absolutely loved it. I thought it was too sweet and rich, though. I didn't care too much for the topping and I thought the crust maybe had too much butter in it. I guess it's just not my sort of thing, but at least everyone else loved it. I even made the chocolate covered strawberries to go with it. It's a great recipe for people who love extremely rich and chocolaty desserts. By the way, I like Kim w's idea about pouring raspberry sauce on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
i didn't care for the flavor much. the texture was fine but the taste was very "blah". next time i'm just going to add chocolate to my favorite classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this recipe for my Dad for his birthday. It was delicious. I wondered if the topping would be too much, but everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good cheesecake! I skipped the topping and poured raspberry sauce over the top instead. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This recipe is good, but not perfect. I've been looking for that fluffy, restaurant quality cheesecake for a while now, and this is not quite it. Despite that, there is a reason why I'm giving this recipe 4 stars! The richness and the topping are excellent. Also, if you like a dense cheesecake, this could be the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States