Chocolate Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Everyone loved this cheese cake!!!! I made it for my friends birthday party I used chocolate graham crackers instead and I made a raspberry purree ( frozen raspberries with a little sugar in the blender) and put some on the plate put the cheese cake on top and then put fresh rasberries on top of the cheese cake when i was ready to serve it. Im not a big cheese cake person but I loved this one!!! I put the bowl in hot water a couple of times like someone else said to do to soften up the cream cheese mixture so i wouldnt have to over beat it. LOVE LOVE LOVED THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this for a baby shower dessert, except I made it in cupcake form. I put an oreo in the bottom of each cupcake liner for the "crust" and then poured the batter in. Baked for about 20 min, refrigerated overnight, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was perfect! It was thick and rich. I did change one thing, I used two individual packages (not boxes)(which was a little more then 2 cups) of chocolate gram crackers and a little extra butter to the crust. oh and I added a splash of the coffee I had brewed that morning to the cheese cake mixture. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This cheesecake is very good and very smooth. My first couple of attempts gave the usual top cracks. I've been able to make a couple now without problems here is my approach. When beating the cream cheese I stop frequently and place the stainless steel bowl into a sink of hot water to help soften the cream cheese so that I don't have to beat it too much. I spray the sides of the pan with cooking spray above the crust line. This keeps the cheese cake from sticking to the sides while cooling and shrinking. I tried to seal up my spring form pans but I was never able to keep the water from leaking in so I've never attempted a standard water bath. I do fill a small roasing pan with hot water and place it on the bottom rack of the oven...the idea here is to try and keep the moisture high in the oven. The recipe calls for 325F. I have a convection oven and I've had really good success at 290F for 1 hour. To help control the cooling rate I switch the oven off at 1 hour and leave the door closed. After an hour of sitting there, I will open the oven door a crack to help cool some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very tasty... and absolutely decadent. I did have a problem with the top cracking, though I think the fault lies with my ovens hot spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe but I did substitute regular gram crackers with chocolate grams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My family loved this cheesecake. I mixed some blueberries and strawberries together and served them next to the cheesecake. I will use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
It tasted great. Slightly overdone but I am guessing thats the same problem I always have when converting to celcius. Only real problem was the chocolate cooled far too much in the cream cheese and started to harden before it could be fully blended. Although, all my Hubby's work mates said it tasted good too. Tiniest crack - no bath used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aylyese

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Overall, I really liked the recipe. I only had two problems: I tried the bath method, and even with two layers of foil, the water seeped in and made my crust soggy. Also, my cake didn't have any cracks after baking for 55 min. I did as the recipe says and turned off the oven, and left the cake in to cool but when I checked it after only 30 minutes, it had a huge crack down the middle. I'll definitely make it again but without the bath and the extra hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
The taste was pretty good but I would have prefered a slightly more chocolatey taste. Also the cheesecake cracked very badly (I cooked it for the time that it called for) so I recommend that you follow the advice section and give it a water bath while its cooking. I was therefore forced to make a chocolate glaze to cover the crack and I think everyone agreed that the glaze made the cheesecake 10X better. Just melt 1 cup of chocolate chips, 3 tbs of butter, and 2 tbs cornsyrup over boiling water, and spread it over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States