Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is perfect, just what I was looking for! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The hbest frosting i have ever had! It is not too sweet and the cinnamon added just the right taste. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great frosting recipe! I did reduce the sugar to 3 cups and only added enough milk to slightly thin it. I put in on Chocolate Zucchini Bars from this site and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
very good! i made this to top cupcakes and everyone raved! :) keep in mind that this frosting is heat sensitive so it's not the best for a picnic or outdoor events on a hot day (mine melted a little while traveling but luckily there was a fridge when i arrived to my destination). will definitely make this again... a great frosting that isn't sickening sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wow - I am so glad I tried this. I am guessing the person who didn't understand the combination of "chocolate and cheese" doesn't like cheesecake. Give me a chocolate cheesecake any day! I have made a LOT of different frostings, and one thing I love about this one is that it actually brings something different to the table. The flavor, the sweetness, the tang, the beautiful creamy consistency and finish - it's just excellent. Sweet, but not sickly sweet - it's not what you would expect from a frosting that uses 4 cups of powdered sugar. I tasted it at 2, 3, and 4 cups of powdered sugar, and each was delicious, just with different consistencies. You can easily alter it to suit your needs. Per the advice of past reviewers, I waited until the end to add any milk and didn't wind up using any at all. I am definitely going to use this recipe often. Oh, and I omitted the cinnamon, but only because it would have clashed with this certain cake's flavor. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is by far the best and easiest frosting I have made in a long time. I creamed the cream cheese, vanilla and butter till fluffy, sifted the sugar and cocoa to remove lumps adding in 1 cup increments. I only needed 2 tablespoons of milk to get the perfect consistancy for cupcakes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
this would have been way better sans the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of using melted unsweetened chocolate chips instead of powder. It made it a hundred times more firmer than I would have liked but it also came out pretty delicious and worked excellent with the cake I was making! Great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Perfect. Some tips: beat the cream cheese and butter together until light, fluffy and free of lumps. Sift the powdered sugar and cocoa powder together before adding - again, to ensure no lumps or bumps. Finally, I'd suggest not adding ANY milk until the end, and then do so little by little! Particularly if you're going to pipe this frosting, as I did, you won't want to use the full amount! I wanted a pure chocolate frosting so I didn't add the cinnamon and this is exactly what I was looking for. Smooth, richly chocolate, and the cream cheese makes this a not-too-sweet frosting. I used this to frost "Lori's White Bread Cake," also from this site (a little plug for that lonely but exceptional recipe!) and it was like gilding the lily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by u62philo
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was amazing! I am throwing away my old chocolate cream cheese icing recipe. I would recommend starting with three cups of the sugar and two tbsp of milk so you can adjust it to your liking. SO smooth and delicious with the Dark Chocolate Cake. I coated the cake with mini chocolate chips too. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States