Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
LOVED THIS! It came out absolutely perfect. I didn't add the cinnamon (not a fan) but it still came out amazing. I think the problem people are having with the frosting becoming runny is because they're adding the full 4 tbsp. I alternated a tbsp. of milk with a cup of sugar. I only used three cups of sugar because I was afraid it would be too sugary. Next time I'll try it with special dark cocoa and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Walser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I blended the cream cheese, butter, vanilla and 3 tbs of milk. Then I added the cocoa powder and confectioners sugar (I did a little extra sugar so it would be thicker to pipe). I left out the cinnamon. DELICIOUS on yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a nice, creamy frosting, and I love the zip that the cinnamon added. If you plan to pipe the frosting, add the milk at the end, otherwise it may be a little too loose to pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Next time I won't add the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
If you love chocolate cheesecake, you're going to love this frosting. I did not have any confectioner's sugar but used white sugar ground finely and it turned out ok. The cream cheese did not dominate the chocolate flavor. It was enough to satisfy any chocolate lover. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is divine. I only used 3 tbsp of milk and listened to other reviewers and mixed the cream cheese and bitter together first and adding the milk last. I'm taking it to a Christmas party tonight, I'm sure everyone will love it! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Amazing! This is my new favorite chocolate frosting. The hint of cinnamon is unexpected and delicious with the cocoa. I have used this several times on a two layer yellow cake (9" pans) and there is always enough. Yellow cake with chocolate frosting is my father's favorite, and the whole family looks forward to it with this frosting. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I excluded the milk and the cinnamon, just treated it like a regular cream cheese frosting. Creamed the butter and the cream cheese first to get it fully mixed and then added the vanilla. I alternated the icing sugar and the cocoa until the cocoa was used up and then put in enough icing sugar to my taste. I also added 3 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate in the double recipe I made. Will use this over and over again. Yummy, yummy, yummy. Could eat this by itself out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Simple and delicious. Cut the cinnamon in half. Half really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanielynne37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great recipe but took the advice of others reviews & only added 2 cups of sugar. I also didn't use the cinnamon, and added 2 ounce of semi sweet chocolate to help deepen the color next time I'll use 4 oz. Excellent recipe. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States