Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Simple and delicious. Cut the cinnamon in half. Half really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanielynne37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great recipe but took the advice of others reviews & only added 2 cups of sugar. I also didn't use the cinnamon, and added 2 ounce of semi sweet chocolate to help deepen the color next time I'll use 4 oz. Excellent recipe. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This recipe is just so delicious. I used at least 3/4 of an 8 0z. cream cheese package, left out the cinnamon and only used 3 cups of confectioner's sugar. I took the advice of other reviews w/the confectioner's sugar and it worked out perfectly. I only used two tablespoons of milk because I was going to pipe my frosting on some cupcakes. If you add all the milk you might end up w/some "runny or too soft" frosting. I also took some good advice/tips from naples34102 and everything worked out well. Thank you too, naples34102 for your tips!! I made cupcakes yesterday for my son who today turned 5 and he said to me "mommy, this is the best chocolate frosting ever"! Even he gave it 5 stars. Thank, you Carol for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NeonDials
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Sets up nicely. Definitely sweet! Creamed the butter/cheese first, added 1 tsp of vanilla, then added the pre-sifted dry ingredients. 2 tbsp of half and half did the trick to loosen it up. Enough icing to pipe 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good. I added only 2 1/2 c. powdered sugar and it was sweet enough. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I left out one cup of powdered sugar and added a cup of peanut butter instead. Oh so good! Makes less sugar but so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
So good. I used buttermilk instead of milk and it made it extra tangy. I think next time I'll stick with the milk. Otherwise ended up with MORE than enough to frost 2 9 in cakes (even in between) with tons left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The taste was both satisfying and intriguing; *chocolate* cream cheese was new to me! I used both the cinnamon as well as 1/2 teaspoon cayenne and only 3 cups sugar as opposed to 4 and only 3 T milk. I whipped the cream cheese, butter and vanilla first, per folks' suggestion. My disappointment came with the texture, which is really just personal preference and not anything the recipe ever promised to be: thick, sticky and a bit too cocoa-powdery, even after 12 hours. I haven't made too many homemade icings in my time so wasn't sure what to expect and had hoped for a little more fluffiness. I think next go I would whip some heavy cream first into soft peaks and try folding it in. The recipe produces plenty -- I had about 3/4-1 cup left after icing a 9*13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Superb! I tasted mine right after I mixed it and it was perfect! It was very smooth and not nearly as sweet as that nasty store bought stuff I'm usually stuck with. I didn't have any vanilla though, so I had to omit that, neither did I add the cinnamon, but it was amazing all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Not sure what I did wrong because this was sour & even with extra sugar was inedible. I did like the slight cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States