Chocolate Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It's far too strong on the nutmeg and it tastes more like spicy hot chocolate than chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenPChappell
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Made this today for Halloween for my husband and me. We both loved it. Put a dollop of whipped cream on top. I am a huge lover of chai drinks. Starbucks has nothing over this one! Some think it is too chocolatey. Chocolate is the most healthful ingredient in it, so I like the full amount. I wondered if it was too much spice, but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
It was pretty good though I did put too much nutmeg for my taste. I'll know better for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is basically hot chocolate with a hint of chai tea. I used a bag of chai tea and thought I wouldn't need all the other ingredients. Perhaps that's why mine came out lacking in flavor. I will continue to use the chai tea bag and increase the water, but decrease the amount of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have made this so many times...I've lost count. Love Love Love. I made this for 8 teens the other day and they kept asking for more. The only change I sometimes make to it is that I add more water less milk. I make sure its half water half milk so that I get a stronger tea flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I don't know that I think chai when I taste this, but it makes a great cup of hot cocoa. I topped it with whipped cream. I thought it tasted as good as any hot chocolate drink from a coffee shop. I liked that it did not use packet hot cocoa, like other similar recipes. I just did 1 serving in the microwave. I boiled the water and seeped one bag. I then followed with 1/2 of the rest of the ingredients, to make one serving, heating in the microwave as needed. I may try it next time with Truvia. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Reminds me of what i use to drink while in Afghan. Learned to drink it in the morning cause it keeps me up all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
pretty good! I agree that the amount of cocoa should be reduced a bit. I ended up using 2 teaspoons of cocoa instead of tablespoon without realizing that i read it wrong, and that was still a good amount of chocolate. I added more tea and less milk and its quite yummy. I shall be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I like the idea of chocolate chai, but I found that the chocolate overpowers the tea and it just ends up tasting like spiced hot chocolate. Next time I will definitely adjust the amount of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Almond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States