Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
After making this cake what feels like 100 times I have switched it up! Try this.... Replace all chocolate with white. White cake, vanilla pudding, white chocolate chips and butterscotch liqueur instead of the coffee. Just as mouth watering but caters to those who are silly enough to not be a fan of chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Wonderful! I just used regular chocolate cake mix, used part mini-chips and part regular (and dropped the total down to about 1-1/2 cups), and subbed strong coffee for the coffee liqueur, and it was just lovely. I decided to serve it with some homemade whipped cream mixed with mashed raspberries -- I didn't add any sugar so it was a bit tart, and this paired really nicely with the very sweet, rich cake and lightened and freshened it up a bit. It was a big hit and very pretty with the pink cream served on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Made this with butterscotch pudding ( I was out of chocolate) and white Ghiardelli chocolate chips (was out of the semi-sweet). This was ooo-weeee GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
YUM! This cake was delicious! I made this with the Bailey's mint liqueur and the Andes mint chip pieces (thanks Sue24) and it tasted just like the mint Girl Scout cookies. I actually added a chocolate glaze with just a touch of the Bailey's too and it was to die for. It was moist and delish...thanks! I want to try all the other flavors now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been making this cake for years, but after reading a review I added a bag of Andes mint chips instead of regular chocolate chips and I had people fighting over the last piece of this cake...it was incredible! Its good as is, but with the mint chips I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Chocolate heaven! This was easy to make and everyone loved it. A definite keeper. I subbed coffee for the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this for a dinner, served with vanilla ice ream and raspberries...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AWESOME! So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was so good! I always make it as the recipe states for the first time and rating. It was amazing. I did add raspberry flavoring the second time, and that was amazing too. Just plain delicious! Thanks for a great cake...3/31/2012 - Making this AGAIN! I love it! But I do only use 1 cup of chocolate chips now, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I would give this a 5+ star for flavor. The only problem that I had with this cake was when I flipped the bundt cake over to cool it on the wire rack it fell apart - I am guessing this was due to the fact that its super moist? Anyways, I put it back together as best as I could and once it cooled I topped it with powdered sugar. My husband also made a nice rum glaze to pour over the top - delicious! I would love to make this again - kinda skeptical though since it did fall apart. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States