Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
We loved this cake! I didn't have any liqueur, so I used the same amount of coffee to replace that liquid. This is so easy and SO GOOD! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Such a wonderful cake, but so easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly except I put less choclate chips in. I would go ahead and put all of them in the next time, and maybe experiment with some white chocolate or mild chocolate chips. We had several people over for a casual party, and the entire cake was gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Over the 'top' amazing...been making this cake for a year now, and "never have leftovers". I have tried several different types of chocolate chips, and really enjoyed it when I use one small bag of white chocolate chips, and one small bag of milk chocolate chips...amazing cake!! I use a boiled (egg white) icing and find it's a great alternative to just dusting with icing sugar. Anyone looking for a great cake...this is it!! Look no further!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raeeln

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
A big hit with everyone I've served these to! The one big recommendation I'd make is to use chocolate liqueur instead of coffee .. the chocolate just makes it! Trust me, no need for icing or frosting, a simple dusting of powdered sugar and fresh rasp- or strawberries makes it decadent and fancy. (I made this in mini bundt pans and they were adorable!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Oh. My. Word! This was amazing! Moist and tender and oh, so chocolately! I did make one small change: I used a double shot of espresso from the coffee shop instead of the coffee liqueur. So yummy! I'm definitely going to play with this recipe--use different flavors of cake mix and pudding, add different chips to the chocolate recipe, etc. Thank you, Caitlin, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali Peacock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Added about a tablespoon of vanilla and only used one cup of the Ghiardelli semisweet chocolate chips. Cake turned out nice and moist but maybe next time I will use 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips to please true chocolate lovers but I thought this was chocolatey enough with the one cup. Extra chips would also make it gooey which might also make it even more special. Used a strawberry glaze recipe I found elsewhere on this site which added a nice color contrast (this was even commented on by one of the men eating the cake!) and which provided a contrast in flavor as well. Next time I think I will use a raspberry glaze instead since I think that goes better with the dark chocolate. Everyone was pleased with my results though, I liked it as well, so I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Followed recipe exactly (except I used mini chips) and it was amazing! Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing Caitlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
If you like A LOT of chocolate then this is your cake. We like chocolate, but this cake should be called chocolate overload! Just not for us- if I try again I'll skip the chocolate chips because the cake part is incredibly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
OK. This recipe scared me. TWO cups of sour cream! But, I made it exactly as written and it turned out fantastic. I used a devil's food cake mix and devil's food pudding mix, full fat sour cream, Kahlua and mini chocolate chips, along with the other ingredients listed. Served it for Father's Day and everyone raved about it. This recipe makes A LOT of batter and the cake overflowed the bundt pan, so next time I will keep out a cup or so of batter and make a few cupcakes along with the bundt cake. Make this cake-you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I thought I had made this cake before and was unimpressed, but with all of the great reviews I decided to try it again. I'm by no means a cake snob, and have made plenty of souped up cake mix cakes which have been excellent, but this is terrible. It's heavy, dense and gummy and even with all of those great ingredients in there it has surprisingly little flavor. Complete waste of expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States