Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Added about a tablespoon of vanilla and only used one cup of the Ghiardelli semisweet chocolate chips. Cake turned out nice and moist but maybe next time I will use 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips to please true chocolate lovers but I thought this was chocolatey enough with the one cup. Extra chips would also make it gooey which might also make it even more special. Used a strawberry glaze recipe I found elsewhere on this site which added a nice color contrast (this was even commented on by one of the men eating the cake!) and which provided a contrast in flavor as well. Next time I think I will use a raspberry glaze instead since I think that goes better with the dark chocolate. Everyone was pleased with my results though, I liked it as well, so I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Followed recipe exactly (except I used mini chips) and it was amazing! Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing Caitlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
If you like A LOT of chocolate then this is your cake. We like chocolate, but this cake should be called chocolate overload! Just not for us- if I try again I'll skip the chocolate chips because the cake part is incredibly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
OK. This recipe scared me. TWO cups of sour cream! But, I made it exactly as written and it turned out fantastic. I used a devil's food cake mix and devil's food pudding mix, full fat sour cream, Kahlua and mini chocolate chips, along with the other ingredients listed. Served it for Father's Day and everyone raved about it. This recipe makes A LOT of batter and the cake overflowed the bundt pan, so next time I will keep out a cup or so of batter and make a few cupcakes along with the bundt cake. Make this cake-you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I thought I had made this cake before and was unimpressed, but with all of the great reviews I decided to try it again. I'm by no means a cake snob, and have made plenty of souped up cake mix cakes which have been excellent, but this is terrible. It's heavy, dense and gummy and even with all of those great ingredients in there it has surprisingly little flavor. Complete waste of expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Also known as "Triple chocolate Cake" This recipe has been around for at least 10-15 years...but usually just coffee instead of the alcohol....and I am guessing the alcohol would evaporate and make it a little drier. Best choclate cake ever....never lasts long enough in this house to go stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Fraser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The most delicious cake I've ever eaten. Perfect, perfect, perfect. Not a morsel left. Thank-you Caitlin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
simple, easy, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I substituted the sour cream for lower fat sour cream and the cake didnt turn out rich at all :( dont do that! I also used a chocolate almond liqueur and it wasnt as exciting as a fruity liqueur would have been. the cupcakes I made from this recipe were a great texture and look amazing! I will be using it again, with regular sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Yum! Yum! Yum! I never thought a box cake could be so delicious. I have been married for over 21 years and my husband said this was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. I made it for my son's 11th birthday, my husband's birthday and now my son wants it for his friend birthday party - 3 times in two weeks. It is soooo moist. I used Kahlua for the liqueur and omitted the chocolate chips. The first time I made it, I only used 1 cup of chips, but just a little too sweet for my liking. Try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States