Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have made this several times for birthdays, everyone LOVES IT! If you can serve it a little warm with either vanilla ice cream or cool whip it's even better! Plan on taking this one to a 4th of July BBQ.. this is my all time favorite chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Pacheco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this recipe into cupcakes last night and our kids/grandkids had nothing but the highest reviews! Our son ate four of them before dinner was served. (At age 42 he is too big to spank). I didn't have Kahlua in the house so I used Coke for a substitute. I frosted the cupcakes with a buttercream chocolate frosting & so we ended up in a chocolate coma.....ahhh....heaven! I know they will all beg for me to make these again at the next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Replaced liquor with equal amounts of brewed coffee & frangelico. Used 1 cup choc chips. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The cake itself came out great! I put cherries in the middle which sank to the top of the cake instead of staying in the middle. Other than that, it was received well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely amazing!!! My boyfriend and his family truly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lozeau
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
FANTASTIC Chocolate Cake recipe!!! I made it for my Boyfriend in celebration of Valentine's Day. If anyone can mess up a recipe, it's me…..but it came out BEAUTIFULLY. Boyfriend says it's the BEST chocolate cake he's ever had. I could not believe how DELIGHTFUL and moist this cake is. I will make it for my Dad's 88th Birthday in early March.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lozeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was only okay in my opinion. I don't like boxed cakes and I thought adding a few extra ingredients would change that, but it didn't. Adding chocolate chips is definitely a huge improvement, but not enough for me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This cake made me famous. I first made it about 6 years ago when I first moved to Colorado. I brought it for a Teacher Appreciation event at my daughters school and since then, word spread! ALL of her teachers and school staff ask me to bring this cake at LEAST once a year. I have made it in a MILLION variations too! I used Baileys Creme de Menthe and mint chips. I used Amaretto, vanilla cake mix and pudding, white chocolate chips and slivered almonds. Devils Food cake, Raspberry liquor,and chocolate covered cranberries. So many choices! Awesome awesome awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made it twice and it just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States