Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have been making this cake for about 5 years now and I haven't messed it up once! (Backstory~I am NOT a baker. Baking to me is a science and cooking is an art. I am much more an artist than scientist.) I have used different kinds of liquor, Amaretto, Godiva Chocolate liquor, Chambord, Kahlua, Bailey's or just plain strong coffee or chocolate milk. I will occasionally make a glaze to drizzle over the top using confectioner's sugar, melted butter, water and a bit of the liquor I used for the cake itself. I signed on here tonight to check out other reviews and possibly get a new idea or two since I am getting ready to make this for Thanksgiving (it's my son's favorite and he's home from school). I think I'm going to stick with the chocolate theme and go with Godiva chocolate liqueur. If you are looking for a great chocolate cake recipe look no further! If I can make it great, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My new favorite cake! LOVED it. Didn't have coffee liquor, had 1/4 cup of chocolate liquor and 1/4 cup of strong coffee. Didn't have pudding mix, used chocolate pudding and half the sour cream, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is easy and delicious. Expensive ingredients but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Recipe was ok. Used Kahlua in recipe....very overwhelming alcohol flavor...hard to get past that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
My family loves this cake recipe. I have been using this recipe for about 3 years now and always substitute chocolate milk for the coffee liquer; I also only back for about 48-50 mins. The other day I substituted vanilla greek yogurt for the sour cream and it was even better. As other reviewers mentioned, don't be afraid to substitute :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have made this several times for birthdays, everyone LOVES IT! If you can serve it a little warm with either vanilla ice cream or cool whip it's even better! Plan on taking this one to a 4th of July BBQ.. this is my all time favorite chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Pacheco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States