Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
the cake turned out great! it is really easy and yes batter will be thick. the cake has a crispy surface and really moist texture. although it is a bit too chocolaty for me(i am not a fan of chocolate), but i guess that's good news for chocolate lovers! just one little note: do not attempt to remove the cake from pan when the cake is still hot!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
So easy, so fast, so yummy! I've only made it once, and it's already a family favorite. If I hadn't made it myself, I would never have believed it was made from a mix. If you love chocolate, you have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
Fabulous chocolate flavor! I used Vanilla pudding(had it on hand) and it was still an EXTREME chocolate flavor! This is like a cross between fudge, brownie, and cake. Family and friends all loved it! Cool completely in pan before turning onto plate (because it is so moist!) LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
The kids loved it, the adults loved it. A win, win, win because it is so easy to prepare. I took others advice and let it cool in the pan for 25 minutes, then turned it on to a cooling rack. **Note** This cake rose beautifully, I baked it for 1 hour, I tested it with a toothpick even though it does not mention this and my toothpick was clean when it came out, while cooling the cake fell back some; at first I was worried, but now I think thats because of its texture inside. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
Very good, really moist and chocolaty. Not as good straight out of the refrigerator -- needs to warm a bit to get better flavor. Everyone at work LOVED this. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
I made this for a family gathering and everyone loved it! It especially thrilled the chocoholic women in our family. Everyone wanted the recipe. Someone suggested it might be good with a chocolate glaze drizzled over the top. I will have to make it again and try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
WOW!!! This cake is so delicious and rich! Will satisfy even the most severe chocolate craving. I took it to a birthday celebration and everyone loved it. (But note it's a dense cake, not birthday-cake style.) I even used light sour cream and substituted Bailey's Irish Cream for the Kahlua, and it turned out superbly! Definitely recommend for chocolate-lovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
Very moist recipe. I've made this and substituted low-fat yogurt for the sour cream. It's as good and lower in fat. I've also taken a flour sifter and sprinkled the top with confectionary sugar followed by cocoa powder. This makes it look a bit prettier and the more chocolate the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
Wonderfully moist cake! I made this for an office get together and it was an instant hit! I put a chocolate buttercream frosting (from this site) on it to make it especially sinful !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This cake is absolutely awesome! A chocoholic's dream come true:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States