Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake I have made. I didn't have Kahlua, so I used a shot of espresso combined with enough milk to make 1/2 cup. It was done for me in 55 minutes. Topped it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I hate to say this, but I did make some changes. We did not have the coffee liquore so I used strong black coffee, used applesauce instead of oil, and I broke up a bar of milk chocolate instead of using chips since we didnt have those either. This came out AMAZING! I'm not a fan of chocolate but I made it for my mother in law. However, none of us can stop eating it!!! SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Have little coffee with your chocolate! Oh So Chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious made the way it is written!!! A sure winner, very easy to make and worth every minute of baking time. Thank you so much for this heavenly goodness!!! I sprinkled each slice with powdered sugar as it was served with a little vanilla ice cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love this recipe! It's become my substitute for a birthday cake! I don't add chocolate chips but instead make a homemade german chocolate cake frosting to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
OMG! Can't be easier and my daughter said it didn't even need the choc chips! Super moist. Thanks Caitlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I substituted canola oil for vegetable oil and strong brewed coffee for the kahlua. I needed a last-minute cake for a birthday party so I tried this one since it's easy and quick. I made 2 cakes because we expected more than 12 people. Everyone loved it! My oven tends to get hotter than it's supposed to be so I baked it for about 45-50 minutes. Very moist and chocolaty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I could probably sell this cake illegally in a dark alley somewhere. Outrageously, ridiculously, sinfully good. I baked it for 45 minutes, then checked it and it was done. Better to bake for less time, remember- you can always stick it back in the oven, but if it's overbaked, there's nothing you can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This cake is decadent, so moist! I made this about a month ago and didn't change a thing with the recipe. I'm making it again today. Usually, when I make a cake, it never gets all eaten. But THIS cake....it was GONE! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I didn't have the liqueur so used some rum instead, but mine just didn't have the moistness that everyone else alluded too. May have over baked - cooked for ~25-30 min for cup cakes vs. the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States