Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Wonderful! I just used regular chocolate cake mix, used part mini-chips and part regular (and dropped the total down to about 1-1/2 cups), and subbed strong coffee for the coffee liqueur, and it was just lovely. I decided to serve it with some homemade whipped cream mixed with mashed raspberries -- I didn't add any sugar so it was a bit tart, and this paired really nicely with the very sweet, rich cake and lightened and freshened it up a bit. It was a big hit and very pretty with the pink cream served on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Made this with butterscotch pudding ( I was out of chocolate) and white Ghiardelli chocolate chips (was out of the semi-sweet). This was ooo-weeee GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
YUM! This cake was delicious! I made this with the Bailey's mint liqueur and the Andes mint chip pieces (thanks Sue24) and it tasted just like the mint Girl Scout cookies. I actually added a chocolate glaze with just a touch of the Bailey's too and it was to die for. It was moist and delish...thanks! I want to try all the other flavors now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been making this cake for years, but after reading a review I added a bag of Andes mint chips instead of regular chocolate chips and I had people fighting over the last piece of this cake...it was incredible! Its good as is, but with the mint chips I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Chocolate heaven! This was easy to make and everyone loved it. A definite keeper. I subbed coffee for the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this for a dinner, served with vanilla ice ream and raspberries...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AWESOME! So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was so good! I always make it as the recipe states for the first time and rating. It was amazing. I did add raspberry flavoring the second time, and that was amazing too. Just plain delicious! Thanks for a great cake...3/31/2012 - Making this AGAIN! I love it! But I do only use 1 cup of chocolate chips now, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I would give this a 5+ star for flavor. The only problem that I had with this cake was when I flipped the bundt cake over to cool it on the wire rack it fell apart - I am guessing this was due to the fact that its super moist? Anyways, I put it back together as best as I could and once it cooled I topped it with powdered sugar. My husband also made a nice rum glaze to pour over the top - delicious! I would love to make this again - kinda skeptical though since it did fall apart. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Super moist. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States