Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Four stars for taste, but the baking time was waaaaay off. My oven is accurate (I've checked), so I was frustrated that this cake took nearly 2 hours to bake. I kept checking it after an hour, at which point I covered it with aluminum foil. I think the cake is supposed to be gooey, but it was downright uncooked until about 95-100 minutes. I'd make it again b/c my brother thought it was the best. chocolate. cake. ever. I'll just allow more time for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Nothing unusual about this cake. I bake about 3 to 4 times a week and have made many cakes better than this one. It is def not worth the cost of the ingredients. It's not a bad cake but not worth the 5 star rating it received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I use Kalua for the coffee-flavored liqueur. Whenever I take it somewhere, I call it my Kalua Chocolate Cake. It devine, super moist, and wonderfully rich. It literally gets eaten in seconds. This is my go-to recipe whenever I need a fast potluck dessert to take. Super quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
If I could give this cake 10 stars, I would! I use 2 eggs sometimes to get it a bit more denser brownie-like texture. And a tiny bit more oil. Instead of chocolate chips, I add butterscotch chips and my god,along with the sour cream and baileys irish coffee liqueur it made everyone go crazy over it! Tis true, you don't need any frosting. i just dust some bitter dark cocoa powder ontop and last new years eve, my drunk uncle had like 5 slices!!! It was a hit! My cake was gone in about 3 hours! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made this for the girls at work everyone loved it. Trying it again today with peanut butter chips. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
everyone who i have made this cake for, just loves it. it has to be one of my husbands favorite, right after red velvet cake. i followed someones advice and substituted the coffee flavored liquor for chocolate milk or hot cocoa. the cake turned out super moist, so much flavor that there is no need for an icing or a glaze. turned out fabulous, thank you for this keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jzgb34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicioso!! I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze on this cake and it is a hit with everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Love this cake. A nice ganache on top and it is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
deeelish!! I added andes mints to give it a little zing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
The frosting is in the inside! This is absolutely the best and easiest chocolate cake ever! I am not sure that it will last till tomorrow. I did not change a thing with the recipe and it turned out perfectly. I will be making this again and again and again........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States