Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
As Naples said, there is a MUCH better version of this recipe on this site. Two cups of sour cream and 1/2 cup of flavored coffee liqueur is UNnecessary. I much prefer the "other" recipe to this one. Mind you, the cake wasn't horrible, but it was hard to mix and didn't bake up that well. All of my cupcakes sank after I took them out of the oven. Thank heavens for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I agree with other reviewers who thought that this cake needed something extra. I made a chocolate glaze with butter, chocolate chips, vanilla and tia maria, then sprinkled almonds over that and served with raspberries and whipped cream. With the extra bits, I thought it was excellent, but I think it would be too plain on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this for my mother in law for her birthday. She is still talking about it months later. We loved it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This cake is amazing! I substituted plain nonfat yogurt for the sour cream, half coconut rum and half chocolate liqueur(its what I had on hand) and only used 1C chocolate chips. It was plenty sweet and very moist. I will definitely be making this again and I cant wait to try different liqueurs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It's very yummy and moist, I just subbed the kahlua with milk for my toddlers. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting. It's much denser after resting overnight. Highly recommended. Maybe I will try it next time as a 2 layer cake with hazelnut buttercream and boysenberry jam to put it over the top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I make this all the time and it is always a hit. In oven now for Valentine's Day tomorrow. Heart shaped bundt pan, red velvet cake mix, white chocolate pudding and white chips. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this for a group of 17 yo boys. They loved it! Easy to make. Daughters loved helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Moist, delicious,perfect chocolate chunk cake. It's a heavy cake (which I love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA
Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very tasty, but too many chocolate chips made it too sweet. Next time I will make without chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Four stars for taste, but the baking time was waaaaay off. My oven is accurate (I've checked), so I was frustrated that this cake took nearly 2 hours to bake. I kept checking it after an hour, at which point I covered it with aluminum foil. I think the cake is supposed to be gooey, but it was downright uncooked until about 95-100 minutes. I'd make it again b/c my brother thought it was the best. chocolate. cake. ever. I'll just allow more time for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States