Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We call this cake the "OMG" chocolate cake at my home--and for good reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Best darn chocolate cake ever..For the serious chocolate lover that needs a cake that is not goo but is rich & delicious..I made my son's confirmation cake with this being the bottom layer for half a sheet cake. Used a good brand canned strawberry filling on top of the chocolate frosting I made..a vanilla layer was on top & I made delicious white buttercream over all with yellow accent frosting & flowers..OOOHH How wonderful it was!!! I tripled the recipe & it came out fine..now,I am going to use this recipe to make my birthday cake..cause this recipe is the best & it's easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zeese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very moist and rich chocolate taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
awesome cake!! I followed the directions and only subbed the coffee flavored liquor for Chambord (raspberry liquor) as recommended by another reviewer. No one suspected that it was from a box, but I had to fess up since they all wanted the recipe any way! I topped with vanilla bean buttercream frosting (found online), which was a PERFECT fit. Next time I will use only 1 cup of chips though, as 2 cups made it SO rich. This is my new fav chocolate cake recipe! thanks Caitlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cake with 1 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips. I also made whipped cream with heavy whipping cream and a little powdered sugar beat until stiff to serve on the side. This cake is better the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this cake many times. It is fanstastic. and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I was torn between 4 and 5 stars. There is a lot of liqueur in this recipe, so much so that it is very apparent. When I use a liqueur I usually want some taste of it, but not as strong as out of the bottle. I have a recipe that uses a few Tablespoons, I will return to that recipe. Also I did add a 1/4 cup of water to this recipe, the wording said it would be thick, but WOW, I was too afraid it was overly thick, so I thinned it a bit (my other recipe uses 1 cup of boiling water)-so I knew it wouldn't hurt anything. It was moist, rich, and cut well the next morning. Held up well at the bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
wow, this has made a hit every where I've taken one. It's my husbands favorite. I love this cake, and I'm trying to figure out how to make a white one.. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Food*on*face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Just made this and it IS delish, but I've had moister cakes... I don't think a glaze would hurt. But it was super easy and quick. Next time I'll try the mint version people have suggested here. BTW, baked it in a 9 X 13 (who ate my bundt pan?)and it took 40 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Really great cake. I forgot to add the liquor, and it was still amazing. I wonder if it would have been a little overly dense with the added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States