Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Best darn chocolate cake ever..For the serious chocolate lover that needs a cake that is not goo but is rich & delicious..I made my son's confirmation cake with this being the bottom layer for half a sheet cake. Used a good brand canned strawberry filling on top of the chocolate frosting I made..a vanilla layer was on top & I made delicious white buttercream over all with yellow accent frosting & flowers..OOOHH How wonderful it was!!! I tripled the recipe & it came out fine..now,I am going to use this recipe to make my birthday cake..cause this recipe is the best & it's easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zeese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very moist and rich chocolate taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
awesome cake!! I followed the directions and only subbed the coffee flavored liquor for Chambord (raspberry liquor) as recommended by another reviewer. No one suspected that it was from a box, but I had to fess up since they all wanted the recipe any way! I topped with vanilla bean buttercream frosting (found online), which was a PERFECT fit. Next time I will use only 1 cup of chips though, as 2 cups made it SO rich. This is my new fav chocolate cake recipe! thanks Caitlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cake with 1 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips. I also made whipped cream with heavy whipping cream and a little powdered sugar beat until stiff to serve on the side. This cake is better the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this cake many times. It is fanstastic. and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I was torn between 4 and 5 stars. There is a lot of liqueur in this recipe, so much so that it is very apparent. When I use a liqueur I usually want some taste of it, but not as strong as out of the bottle. I have a recipe that uses a few Tablespoons, I will return to that recipe. Also I did add a 1/4 cup of water to this recipe, the wording said it would be thick, but WOW, I was too afraid it was overly thick, so I thinned it a bit (my other recipe uses 1 cup of boiling water)-so I knew it wouldn't hurt anything. It was moist, rich, and cut well the next morning. Held up well at the bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
wow, this has made a hit every where I've taken one. It's my husbands favorite. I love this cake, and I'm trying to figure out how to make a white one.. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Food*on*face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Just made this and it IS delish, but I've had moister cakes... I don't think a glaze would hurt. But it was super easy and quick. Next time I'll try the mint version people have suggested here. BTW, baked it in a 9 X 13 (who ate my bundt pan?)and it took 40 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Really great cake. I forgot to add the liquor, and it was still amazing. I wonder if it would have been a little overly dense with the added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
After making this cake what feels like 100 times I have switched it up! Try this.... Replace all chocolate with white. White cake, vanilla pudding, white chocolate chips and butterscotch liqueur instead of the coffee. Just as mouth watering but caters to those who are silly enough to not be a fan of chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States