Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Just made this cake for my mom's birthday and received rave reviews! Only thing I did different was replace Grand Marnier for the coffee liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My husband's favorite. I didn't have any liqueur so I just added 1/4 C water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This cake is so rich and moist, we didn't think it needed any frosting or glaze on top. My only substitution was a 1/2 c. of Godiva chocolate liqueur instead of Kahlua... definitely making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I'm a super-picky chocolate cake eater but I'd give this 10 stars if I could. I'll never make another chocolate cake recipe again. I regret I had no liquor and had to use 1/2 cup strong coffee instead. It was excellent and we paired it with Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream which was delightful. My daughter complained about the lack of frosting UNTIL she tasted the cake. No frosting needed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pet Shop Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We call this cake the "OMG" chocolate cake at my home--and for good reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Best darn chocolate cake ever..For the serious chocolate lover that needs a cake that is not goo but is rich & delicious..I made my son's confirmation cake with this being the bottom layer for half a sheet cake. Used a good brand canned strawberry filling on top of the chocolate frosting I made..a vanilla layer was on top & I made delicious white buttercream over all with yellow accent frosting & flowers..OOOHH How wonderful it was!!! I tripled the recipe & it came out fine..now,I am going to use this recipe to make my birthday cake..cause this recipe is the best & it's easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very moist and rich chocolate taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
awesome cake!! I followed the directions and only subbed the coffee flavored liquor for Chambord (raspberry liquor) as recommended by another reviewer. No one suspected that it was from a box, but I had to fess up since they all wanted the recipe any way! I topped with vanilla bean buttercream frosting (found online), which was a PERFECT fit. Next time I will use only 1 cup of chips though, as 2 cups made it SO rich. This is my new fav chocolate cake recipe! thanks Caitlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this cake with 1 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips. I also made whipped cream with heavy whipping cream and a little powdered sugar beat until stiff to serve on the side. This cake is better the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this cake many times. It is fanstastic. and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States