Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great cake!! Made it as a sheet cake and added a chocolate chip frosting. My co-workers were fighting over it. I've made it 5 times already...work, church, bake sale, Mother's Day, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
simple enough for my 13 year old to make and very good and moist. Didn't add any glaze which it didn't need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Made this cake this morning; but not in a bundt cake pan. I baked it in regular Wilton cake pans. It was delicious! Even without frosting as I have been trying different recipes. Also, I did not have any coffee liqueor so I used 1/2 cup of brewed (cooled) coffee. The chocolate chips I used were Ghardelli. I will try it again with coffee liqueor as I think that would make it even more full flavored. I have been looking and trying different chocolate recipes from scratch and have been disappointed with each one. The next cake I am making is an ocean/beach cake with a sailboat for my daughter's baby shower. I must say that when put in the refrigerator; this cake was very easy to carve. So using a cake mix with additives didn't bother me at all. It's the end result I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I have made this cake for a wedding cake and a fancy birthday cake by icing it with butter cream and making a ganache to pour over it and let it run down the sides. Both times I got RAVE reviews. Now, if I make it as a bundt, I create a glaze and use a technique I learned from another bundt cake. Do the regular glaze recipe of 2 cups powdered sugar and 2-3 tbsp of milk and add a couple of tbs of cocoa if you want chocolate. Then, when the cake is still a bit warm you turn it out of the pan and then put it back in. Pour the glaze over the bottom of the cake in the pan and it should release easily in about 10-15 minutes when you turn it onto a cake plate. Tastes kind of like a cake donut when you glaze it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
As Naples said, there is a MUCH better version of this recipe on this site. Two cups of sour cream and 1/2 cup of flavored coffee liqueur is UNnecessary. I much prefer the "other" recipe to this one. Mind you, the cake wasn't horrible, but it was hard to mix and didn't bake up that well. All of my cupcakes sank after I took them out of the oven. Thank heavens for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I agree with other reviewers who thought that this cake needed something extra. I made a chocolate glaze with butter, chocolate chips, vanilla and tia maria, then sprinkled almonds over that and served with raspberries and whipped cream. With the extra bits, I thought it was excellent, but I think it would be too plain on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this for my mother in law for her birthday. She is still talking about it months later. We loved it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This cake is amazing! I substituted plain nonfat yogurt for the sour cream, half coconut rum and half chocolate liqueur(its what I had on hand) and only used 1C chocolate chips. It was plenty sweet and very moist. I will definitely be making this again and I cant wait to try different liqueurs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It's very yummy and moist, I just subbed the kahlua with milk for my toddlers. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting. It's much denser after resting overnight. Highly recommended. Maybe I will try it next time as a 2 layer cake with hazelnut buttercream and boysenberry jam to put it over the top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I make this all the time and it is always a hit. In oven now for Valentine's Day tomorrow. Heart shaped bundt pan, red velvet cake mix, white chocolate pudding and white chips. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States