Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lisa Lozeau
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
FANTASTIC Chocolate Cake recipe!!! I made it for my Boyfriend in celebration of Valentine's Day. If anyone can mess up a recipe, it's me…..but it came out BEAUTIFULLY. Boyfriend says it's the BEST chocolate cake he's ever had. I could not believe how DELIGHTFUL and moist this cake is. I will make it for my Dad's 88th Birthday in early March.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lozeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was only okay in my opinion. I don't like boxed cakes and I thought adding a few extra ingredients would change that, but it didn't. Adding chocolate chips is definitely a huge improvement, but not enough for me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This cake made me famous. I first made it about 6 years ago when I first moved to Colorado. I brought it for a Teacher Appreciation event at my daughters school and since then, word spread! ALL of her teachers and school staff ask me to bring this cake at LEAST once a year. I have made it in a MILLION variations too! I used Baileys Creme de Menthe and mint chips. I used Amaretto, vanilla cake mix and pudding, white chocolate chips and slivered almonds. Devils Food cake, Raspberry liquor,and chocolate covered cranberries. So many choices! Awesome awesome awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made it twice and it just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Delish!! Always a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great cake!! Made it as a sheet cake and added a chocolate chip frosting. My co-workers were fighting over it. I've made it 5 times already...work, church, bake sale, Mother's Day, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
simple enough for my 13 year old to make and very good and moist. Didn't add any glaze which it didn't need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Made this cake this morning; but not in a bundt cake pan. I baked it in regular Wilton cake pans. It was delicious! Even without frosting as I have been trying different recipes. Also, I did not have any coffee liqueor so I used 1/2 cup of brewed (cooled) coffee. The chocolate chips I used were Ghardelli. I will try it again with coffee liqueor as I think that would make it even more full flavored. I have been looking and trying different chocolate recipes from scratch and have been disappointed with each one. The next cake I am making is an ocean/beach cake with a sailboat for my daughter's baby shower. I must say that when put in the refrigerator; this cake was very easy to carve. So using a cake mix with additives didn't bother me at all. It's the end result I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I have made this cake for a wedding cake and a fancy birthday cake by icing it with butter cream and making a ganache to pour over it and let it run down the sides. Both times I got RAVE reviews. Now, if I make it as a bundt, I create a glaze and use a technique I learned from another bundt cake. Do the regular glaze recipe of 2 cups powdered sugar and 2-3 tbsp of milk and add a couple of tbs of cocoa if you want chocolate. Then, when the cake is still a bit warm you turn it out of the pan and then put it back in. Pour the glaze over the bottom of the cake in the pan and it should release easily in about 10-15 minutes when you turn it onto a cake plate. Tastes kind of like a cake donut when you glaze it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States