Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great! Rave reviews from all! Only change I made was substituted instant espresso + 1/4 c water for liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by English gal
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
moist chocolate heaven, thick batter and I did not have any chocolate liquor so improvised and used fresh black coffee.Came out of the oven exactly one hour.I decided to make a ganache and added some Irish cream liquor to the ganache. Great chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this for my mother's birthday. She can't have gluten so used a gluten free chocolate cake mix and followed the recipe exactly except had to add maybe a half to 3/4 cup of water to thin out the batter. I had to bake for an additional 10 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 30 minutes and it came out perfectly. After cooling I drizzled with a chocolate ganache and left over chocolate pieces. I let is sit in the fridge over night which I think helps develop the flavor of baked goods. To serve I filled the hole in the bundt cake with slightly sweetened whipped cream. Everyone went crazy for it. I did get asked if there was alcohol in it..so I might reduce that amount next time or swap for something else but everyone wanted more. Will make again…and no one could tell it was gluten free as a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
YUM! I unknowingly didn't have enough sour cream for this, so I used about 7 ounces of sour cream and 2/3 c. oil - turned out great! I know this said it didn't need frosting, but it was my kid's birthday, so he needed decorations. I used a chocolate canned frosting on top and it was rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by VioletSkies
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Good lawd!!! This cake is excellent and beyond! Only used one cup of chocolate chips and it was perfect! Going to try the Andes mints next time!!! Pillsbury Dark Chocolate cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have been making this cake for about 5 years now and I haven't messed it up once! (Backstory~I am NOT a baker. Baking to me is a science and cooking is an art. I am much more an artist than scientist.) I have used different kinds of liquor, Amaretto, Godiva Chocolate liquor, Chambord, Kahlua, Bailey's or just plain strong coffee or chocolate milk. I will occasionally make a glaze to drizzle over the top using confectioner's sugar, melted butter, water and a bit of the liquor I used for the cake itself. I signed on here tonight to check out other reviews and possibly get a new idea or two since I am getting ready to make this for Thanksgiving (it's my son's favorite and he's home from school). I think I'm going to stick with the chocolate theme and go with Godiva chocolate liqueur. If you are looking for a great chocolate cake recipe look no further! If I can make it great, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Wicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My new favorite cake! LOVED it. Didn't have coffee liquor, had 1/4 cup of chocolate liquor and 1/4 cup of strong coffee. Didn't have pudding mix, used chocolate pudding and half the sour cream, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States