Chocolate Caramel Nut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I am a professional pastry chef that has used this recipe! It is wonderful! The previous pastry chef (at my job) had ordered a case of snickers that I "inherited" once I took over. Not really knowing how to use them up, I visited my favorite site - allrecipes.com! That is when I came upon this recipe for snickers pie. It is a wonderful dessert, easy, and one that will get you RAVE reviews. The only thing I did differently, was put a layer of caramel on top of the cream cheese layer (after it was baked). I feel it adds to the "snickers" feeling of the dessert. Try this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYCHICK101

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This recipe was very good! I have one recommendation though: Instead of placing the 4 candy bars on top of the pie before baking the last layer CHOP them into smaller pieces this way it melts easier. When you refridgerate the pie the melted candy bar chunks make for difficult cutting. If you chop the candy bars into smaller sections it will melt easier and distribute the Snickers taste throughout the entire pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was an amazing pie! I made it for my hubs b-day, and he loved it :) The only reason I rated it lower than 5 was that I had to drastically cut back on the sugar... added 1/4 cup to fudge and 1/4 cup to cream cheese. With those changes it was perfect. Just to make it more peanutty, and this was just for my hub, I subbed 1/4 cup of peanut butter chips for part of the chocolate chips in the fudge. Also made peanut butter/chocolate ganache for the top and doubled the amount listed to cover the full pie. PS - If you want to make your life easier, take advantage of your microwave! Don't chop or cube the chocolate and butter. Pop it in a bowl and nuke it 30 secs and stir and pop it back for 15 secs at a time stirring until melted. For ganache, microwave the cream until you see a few bubbles and then throw the chocolate in and stir til melted. So much easier! Not like someone's going to eat your pie and say..."Oh, I can taste the radiation!" LOL :) Great recipe and thank you Dayna for helping make my husband happy for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is an AWESOME dessert! This was the first recipe on allrecipes that I found that looked interesting. I made it last nite and let it stay in the fridge until this morning. It is simply AMAZING! My parents loved it! The snicker bars add a lot to this. However, I would advise everyone who buys a pie crust instead of making it to buy a DEEP-dish pie crust. Its a pretty big pie! And SOOO rich! THank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This pie won 1st Place in our hometown festival pie contest. My daughter made this pie and it was a great recipe to teach how to follow a recipe for a new cook. We drizzled melted chocolate almond bark and sprinkled with crushed peanuts on top. It was a beautiful sight. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This pie was a hit with more sophisticated taste buds. I was told that it was restaurant quality and have been requested to make it again. Great pie. The Snickers melt in the middle so use at least the recommended amount to get the chewy, carmely effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This was definitely yummy! I thought the cream cheese would be a bad idea, but it fit very well. The cooking times seem to be off. I have a well calibrated oven and live near sea level... neither layer was 'set' after the appointed times and I had to leave the pie in longer. Nonetheless, it is very rich and yummy. It is definitely better served chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Fewx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
We made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was very good, but not for those who don't like rich desserts. I made the recipe exactly as written except I cheated in two ways: I used a premade graham cracker crust and instead of using a double boiler, I used the microwave - - less dishes to wash. I will be making this again, but instead might use a shortbread crust instead of graham cracker. Also, the chocolate part of the recipe covered over 1/2 of the pie, so I didn't have enough room to add all of the cream cheese part. Next time, I won't use all of the chocolate batter or else get a deeper pie pan. I also liked the idea of using a springform pan whch might be better. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I was surprised at how long it actually took to make this pie. However, the results were out of this world! I also see that it says it serves 8, but it definitely can serve at least 12, as the pie is incredibly rich. Thanks to the other reviews for suggesting chopping up the Snickers bars. I don't see how you could slice the pie if you didn't. This recipe is not for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasvegasjuliek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States