Chocolate Caramel Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
this was ok...it depends on your taste alot of people ate it and loved it i just thought it would be better with a coffee flavored cake or something idk ill try it my own way its a great technique for take along cakes but didnt suit my personal taste as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good! I used the chewy caramel recipe from this site as the filling instead of running to the store and buying caramels and unwrapping them. A dollop of vanilla ice cream on top - decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
First off I have to start off by saying. I don't like chocalate or cake. I know I'm weird. But, my friends birthday is today and he mentioned every year his mother makes him Chocolate Caramel cake. His parents are out of town, so yesterday I thought I would try and make it. This is my first cake so I was nervous, but I read the reviews and tried it. I made a test cake last night. My Mother was my guinea pig and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. I couldnt find caramel, so I used 1 jar of caramel topping (I should have used 2) and I used 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate and a few pecan turtles (chopped)from Sees Candies (he loves those). And I sprinkles chopped pecans on top. Well I make his cake after work today, I hope he likes it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I have been making this recipe for over 20 years, it is a favorite of ours. The caramel filling is supposed to be somewhat solid once it cools off. It is equally delicious warm or cold (or, in some cases, frozen!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Love it!!! Very easy, and very good. Made it for my mother-law-birthday luncheon, and it was a big hit. She has even requested the recipe. This is a keeper! P.S. I used a little bit more choc. chips and nuts. Great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is sooo good, my husband and son loved it too. But, I didn't get that gooey center I expected and I measured carefully. Next time I'll try the bought caramel sauce, it's thicker, this didn't stay on top, maybe that's the problem. Will definitely make again and try it with the snickers bars too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!!! Well worth the time to unwrap and melt the caramels!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
LOVED IT! I didn't add the nuts, but this has to be the best chocolate/caramel recipe I've tried in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was fabulous! I substitued the walnuts for snickers candy bars as others had suggested. I also added chocolate frosting on top (it didn't look to pretty and it was for my mom's bday). It was very delicious and rich. definitly need a glass of milk or vanilla ice cream. I plan on making it again for my husbands bday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This cake was so easy and so yummy. I didn't get a defined "filling", however, as described in previous posts. My caramel was pretty runny when I poured it over the cake. Perhaps, next time I will go ahead and purchase a caramel sauce instead. I also added toffee bits to the chocolate chips. Edit: I just realized I added the entire 12 oz evaporated milk instead of the 5oz, hence no "filling."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States